Help with Horses, Dogs, Cats, Pet pig and lots of cows in our Outback Cattle Station in North Queensland




Favourited 763 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Join now to contact this host

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    We are a young busy working family looking for helpers to stay with us and experience the culture of living with an Australian family that enjoy outdoor activities, LOTS of horse riding and other activities on offer.

    We live approx 2 hours from the closest town of Charters Towers (historic gold town) 4 hours away from Townsville.
    This is a very beautiful rural setting with waterfalls, creeks etc, basalt lava wall and many other landmarks.
    Our family also has 8 dogs, 3 cats, chickens, turkeys, geese, ducks, pet pig, goats, cows and a LOT of horses - so for all those people that like animals and want to experience life on a outback cattle station then this is for u!

    We are simply looking for an extra pair of hands to help muck out, feed animals, and help with house hold chores such as gardening, vacuuming the house and cooking meals for yourselves and us. Depending on your experience you may like to head out and do some mustering or feeding the cattle when that is available.

    We would require you to be available to help out approx 2-5 hours a day 5 days a week and there is flexibility to move hours around. However animals need feeding everyday so your help may be needed more or less depending on the days. This can be discussed during your stay. So your weekends could be free after chores are done. We are people that like to get out of the house when possible, so will be more than happy to show you around the place.

    Please note that we have LIMITED internet. This seems to always cause a problem as our helpers do not understand that we dont have access to mobile coverage and internet is therefore very expensive here.

    Please could you provide some more information about yourself and your work experience if you are interested.
    Couple positions are available and may have their own room if it is available. Must be friendly, have a sense of humour and have initiative and be able to work alone.

    We have been exchange hosts for a long time and have had lots of fun with all the people we have met, many I am still friends with, so we are used to living with people that are traveling and I love showing them what our great country has to offer.

    PLEASE - NO DRUGS. You will be asked to leave!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Horsemanship, language, lots of animals!

  • Help


    Feeding animals, mucking out horse yards, helping around the house and yard. Occasionally if we are working cattle than your help may be needed and you can learn about this.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken


  • Accommodation


    Live with the family in the house or separate quarters available (single only). Can provide for couple if required.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have waterfalls with beautiful swimming spots, basalt wall national park as well as being only 1.5hours from the historical town of charters towers.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Max 25 hours a week with 2 days off

Host ref number: 359682613987