Help with family life on smallholding Andalucia , Tarifa, Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 392 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    78.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of four with a smallholding of 5 hectares just outside the town of Tarifa. Aside from our business in town (a vegetarian takeaway restaurant with which we do not need help) we are trying to develop more income from the land and increase our level of self sufficiency.

    We rent a couple of houses on the land and 3 yurts during the summer months; and spend the rest of the year improving the gardens and installations. Help involves anything from gardening to building to helping with the kids, making chutney and housekeeping. . . depending on your abilities and our current priorities. We especially look for people with practical skills, flexibility and enthusiasm.

    The accommodation is a lovely refurbished static van so you can be independent in your free time.

    In winter we need help from someone with handy skills to do some projects and maintenance on the land 1 or 2 people.

    In summer we are looking for a person to stay and help with housekeeping, some cooking and keeping kids company when we are busy. 1 person only.

    You could start now!! We look forward to hearing from you . . .

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will see what is involved in making a piece of land beautiful and productive!! We are self sufficient in energy and have done pretty much everything ourselves, including running various businesses. We have also travelled lots and have lots of info and practical experience of how to do all kinds of things. Being around kids and nature is always an education too.

  • Help

    Help

    We have many projects including a veggie garden, restoring, painting maintenence, landscaping, tree planting, preserving produce, etc.,etc.

    We like independent people with lots of energy and enthusiasm and prefer those with some practical experience and skills to really help move our project along.

    This winter we are doing lots of maintenance jobs around the land.

    In summer we would love help with general life as we are super busy with the restaurant and yurts - cleaning around the house and garden, keeping the kids company, . . . generally easing the work load during our high season . . .

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Spanish, German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation is a static camper van with a kitchen and yurt camp bathroom nearby with hot showers. Food is provided for you and we can eat together on help days. We only have space for 1 person or a couple.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are 3km from the nearest town, a 45 min. walk to stunning beaches, plenty of adventure activities and nightlife - even paid work opportunities. Tarifa is the windsurfing mecca of Europe and is a very attractive area for all interests. Transport handy but not essential - we can often provide lifts or lend a bike . . .

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 per week




Host ref number: 3589164224d1