Explore the wild west coast of BC, Canada and do childcare for boys age 1 and 3

Country

Canada

Favourited 35 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/12/2018

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of four with two boys aged 1 and 3. My husband is a talented woodworker/shipwright and I am a teacher. We have both traveled around the world, but nowadays we are busy working and taking care of our little ones in Brentwood Bay, a little town just outside of Victoria, BC. Although we aren't going out to see the world right now, we hope the world can come to us! We would love to share our beautiful part of the world with you and hear your stories. If you love exploring the outdoors and having fun with little kids, we would love to have you stay with us. This is our first time hosting a workawayer, and we are so excited to try it!

    We often go out on weekends to explore the trails in our area. In the Spring and Summer we try to get out sailing and camping as much as we can. We also love taking the boys out on the local bike trails. We love being outdoors and would love to have you go exploring with us. Areas that are easily accessible from our place are the beautiful city of Victoria, the super laid-back, artsy Saltspring Island, the bustling city of Vancouver, the surfing mecca of Tofino, as well as the alluring local beaches and delightful businesses and markets.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Help in the house
    Teaching

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for a one person to take care of the boys on the days that I work as a teacher. The 25 hours of volunteer time would be concentrated on Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday from 8-4. Friday, Saturday, Sunday and Monday would be yours to explore the area, or take a trip to any of the great places this part of the world has to offer. You are also welcome to stay with us on the four days you aren't expected to do childcare for the boys. We would love to show you around!

    We are hoping for someone who would like to stay with us a minimum of two months, ideally three months, as the kids would need some consistency in who they interact with. On the days you take care of the children we hope you will engage with them, take them on outings, do some art projects, explore outside, feed lunch and snacks and put the youngest down for a nap. We hope you will also help out with daily basic chores like dishes, cleaning and cooking.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Guest Bedroom with personal bathroom
    Internet
    Bikes
    Directly on bus route

    You would have our guest bedroom and a personal bathroom. Our home is a spacious 3 bedroom basement suite on an acre and a half of land in Brentwood Bay. Our house is directly on the bus route to Buchart Gardens, a local tourist haven of breathtaking gardens, and downtown Victoria. We are happy to share our bikes with you as well as the house wifi password. We would also be happy to taxi you into town or wherever else you may need to go when we can.

    As there are two little kids in the house, the house gets quiet around 8pm. There is a separate entrance you can use if you would like to go out in the evenings. You are welcome to stay up as late as you like, keeping in mind that the kids would need a certain degree of quiet. If you like to go out and party often or smoke, this isn't the right place for you.

    We eat healthy balanced meals. We certainly eat meat, dairy and gluten, but try to purchase high quality products. We are happy to accommodate you if you have any allergies.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This is the best place on earth to live (in my humble opinion). Its a great opportunity to gain some experience if you are looking to work with children as a career, and explore the outdoors. A quick google search of our area of the world will show you how many tourist attractions there are to explore, but we can also give you a real personal connection to this place. I wish I had known about the workaway program when I was exploring the world because the real connection with people is what I always loved about traveling.

    We are really down to earth, laid back people who love to tell and hear stories. Randie has been an ESL teacher for over ten years and enjoys helping people improve their English. Thomas is an artist as well as a skilled wood worker and loves to share and learn from others. We have no restrictions in our diet other than we try to eat healthy, balanced meals. We often love to get some beer and/or wine, some crackers and cheese, and sit outside by the fire pit and talk about all manner of important and not so important things in life. Come hang out with us!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

The whole family out at Fort Rod Hill.
The Pinta, our boat
The boys having fallen asleep on a bike ride
At one of our favourite hiking spots close to our place
Having a beach picnic
Just another day... on our sailing trip last summer.
Our Cat, Ramzeez
Thomas and Randie exploring the outdoors
The boys at Christmas. Zade is 3 and Ezra is 1
Host ref number: 355712751264