Gardening and Italian way of life with our family in Camaiore

  • Favourited 17 times
  • Last activity: 15 Apr 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We have a small-holding (6000m2) where we live and produce food for our own consumption, and it is a continual self-taught learning experience for us. We use completely organic, natural, no-dig methods of food production.
    Our household consists of Sarah (English) once an artist now works caring for our land, Stefano (Italian), once an artist, now works as a gardener and our two adult offspring ages 26(Sophia, decorative painter/artist) and 28(Duccio, website designer). We are all bilingual in Italian and English, and can help with anyone interested in those languages. We are a calm, harmonious creative household with additionally two very present and loved dogs and a cat. We live in an isolated place in a small valley at the foot of the Apuane Mountains, and try and live in a simple and sustainable way.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We can help with Italian or English language skills, gardening skills, and understanding a general Italian way of life, although we do not live a typical life at all. We also have a wide knowledge of sculpture and various painting techniques.

  • Help

    Help

    We are principally looking for help in keeping the garden and the borders of the garden under control. The work in the vegetable garden will consist of activities such as weeding, cutting grass, tending to plants to keep them insect free, planting seedlings, harvesting, watering, etc. We also have 7 bee-hives, some chickens and pigeons. We may also occasionally need help mending or creating fences to keep foxes out of the chicken run or other maintenance jobs around the place.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The accommodation is in a wooden hut (40m2), separate from the family house. It is suitable for max. 2 people and has a double and single bed, shower room and kitchen area, but isn’t heated or insulated, therefore we suggest the best months to come are april/may/june or september/october. You can make your own evening meal, with ingredients provided by us if you prefer, or you can eat all your meals with us, and we can do the cooking or share it. We mainly have a simple vegetable based diet, but we are not vegetarian.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are many hill/mountain walks to explore and Candalla and its famous mountain stream swimming a 20 minute walk away. Rock climbing is a thing in this area too. The coast of Versilia is only 8km away, with restaurants and night life activities if that is of interest, but you would need your own transport for that. The village of Camaiore is about 4km away, with bars, restaurants, shops and a cinema. Buses from Camaiore go to the coast, to Lucca and to Viareggio or Pietrasanta where there are stations that link to Pisa, Lucca, Florence and the rest of Italy.
    We will gladly give a lift to town or the beach if we are going that way. It is possible to hire electric bikes in Camaiore.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have open access fast unlimited internet as our son works mainly from home as a programmer and web developer.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have a level place to park and an external shower-room, although only with cold water at the moment.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 354224465268

Feedback

Help our daughters with English speaking and writing in Falconara Marittima, Italy
English or Portuguese native speakers for a language exchange with my daughter in Verona, Italy