Come stay with me and my kids in Leuven, Belgium

Country

Belgium

Favourited 137 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/06/2020

  • Badges

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    hi, I am a single mom with three kids ages 8 to 11. I love languages and speak somewhere between 6 and 10. I like foreign people at my place, also because of the language and cultural exchange. I work and live in a student city with all a student city has to offer, all within walking distance from our doorstep. I am mainly looking for an extra pair of hands with the children (anything from cooking for them, bringing to (music) school by bike, taking them to the library), the daily chores (and teaching my kids that this can actually be FUN), but my children being there only half of the time, there is also room for other projects such as building a wooden hut in the garden for them to play, if you are a handy(wo)man, painting works in the house, and other DIY, as well as help with receiving tourists / guests. At my place we like a good laugh, science, languages, music, and making fun together. I am open to any offer from just a week to few months stay.
    If you want to learn a language, Dutch is my mother tongue, but if you have just basic skills in English, French, German or Italian, I could also speak those and teach you. (I also like to learn Hungarian, Russian, Swedish, Greek, and others!)
    I have several experiences of people living at my place and sharing my house from just one week to several months, including 6 workaway exchanges.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Languages! We love them. My kids are already learning Danish and Italian, English and French.
    Leuven is also a vibrant city. I am an extrovert person.

  • Help

    Help

    Mainly help with my kids, they have activities (music, dance, sports) and are just not old enough to ge everywhere alone, whereas I need to work during regular business hours. If you can cook, that would be great, if not, I am an enthusiast cook (only lacking time) - we are even planning on opening a restaurant. Help with the daily chores will always be part of the work, help in finishing the house (paint, walls, ...) would be great if you like it.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Dutch, English, French, German, Italian, Spanish; some Greek, Hungarian, Swedish, mhm.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You have your own room on the first floor in an old house. A bathroom is shared with the kids and other guests.
    There is a (small) city garden. Your bedroom is about 10 - 11 meter square. There are three rooms upstairs that need some works done. The house is very large and spacious. We have cats, chickens and fish.

    Your room has a (double) bed, cupboard, table, chair. We share living room, kitchen, garden.

    You can cook your own meals, have meals with our family (I cook) and you can cook for our family (If you can cook, it would be great if you cook now and then).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Time off: explore Leuven. Visit Brussels. Bruges, Ghent, ... Read a book from our library. Go cycling. Walking in the parks. Lots of sports around here. Train and bus is all nearby if you want to move around. A bicycle is also at your disposition.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 4-5 days a week





Host ref number: 351775928469