Join our unschooling family in Santa Cruz, United States

Country

United States

updated  

Favourited 54 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    75.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We're a family of five living in a two-bedroom, 1,400 sq ft home on a 1.5-acre lot amongst the redwoods in rural Bonny Doon, California.

    Our three kids were born in 2014, 2018 and 2021.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Teaching
    Gardening
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are the cofounders of a business that helps people overcome chronic health conditions and improve performance and flourishing by examining our modern problems in the context of our ancestral heritage. Our diet and lifestyle are very carefully designed in a way that makes people feel great. As a Workawayer, we're hoping you will join us in every aspect of that lifestyle. We appreciate there are many ways to skin a cat, and we're hoping we'll learn something about what makes you feel good too.

  • Help

    Help

    The best way to think about living with us is to consider yourself joining a family and a small community. You’d be like an aunt or uncle, meaning you'll help out your sibling, but you aren't their au pair. We think parent is a relationship, not an activity.

    You'll want to be sure you are in a stage of life where you enjoy having kids around and a desire to spend time with and inspire them. However, guests are not responsible for our kids, and we are not looking for nannies.

    We take a play-first approach to learning that is non-coercive and self-directed, you may know as unschooling.

    As a Workawayer, we'd like you to help us with mountain living logistics, special projects, and modelling valuable skills for our kids. Tasks include shopping, food prep, cooking, and clean up for our communal meals. Don't worry; one of your hosts is a master cook, food scientist, and excellent delegator.

    We're early birds, up around 6:30 am, in bed at 9 pm. We don't mind if you stay up late but you won't much help if you identify as a night owl as our schedules won't overlap much.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We’ve got a spare room with a king-size bed, a trailer with a full size, and a canvas bell tent with a queen-size bed for guests.

    We eat together as a family for breakfast, dinner and sometimes lunch too. Please join us! We'd prefer it that way but if you prefer to cook your own food that could work too. Dad is coeliac and our kitchen is strictly gluten-free. The other bright line we maintain is no industrial seed oils, e.g. canola (also called “rapeseed”), corn, cottonseed, soy, sunflower, safflower, grapeseed, rice bran. We are omnivores.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    It's a 15 min drive to the beach, 30 to Santa Cruz.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We've got two very well trained unneutered Australian cattle dogs that get along well with other dogs. We've also got an outdoor feral cat that unfortunately doesn't like company so please no cats.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 351397977849