Help us with our horses at a beautiful restored traditional farmhouse in the very scenic, hilly countryside of Almeria, Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 122 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    13  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/09/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    92.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live in an old farmhouse in rural Almeria with 7 cats a large dog two ducks and my 3 horses ( maybe 4 , we have a friend's horse here too at the moment) . I have just broken a leg and am unable to care for the horses (at least until the end of September - probably longer). So we very much need someone with at least a little experience who can feed , clean and care for them more or less on their own, for any time from a week up to two or three months. Any help in the garden or with cooking ( vegetarian) would also be a nice extra.
    What can we offer in return? The experience of living in a unique environment - dry farmland / the nearest to a desert in Europe, with plenty of places of interest around and about. Ideal for walking /cycling. Food ( or allowance) and a nice room in our house, a small salary. We are quite isolated, so, unless you are very self sufficient, it would suit a couple or maybe two friends who would be company for each other. A driving license would be an advantage. If you decide to stay longer a self contained flat should be available from November

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    we can offer - the interest of living in a semi desert area - unique in Europe. The area is very rural and was slow to develop and the past still feels quite close at times.

    I am an ex English language teacher, so would be glad to help someone wanting to improve their English.
    Opportunity to interact with the horses
    My husband knows a lot about carpentry / building and construction work

  • Help

    Help

    - HORSE CARE
    and any of
    - gardening - weeding , watering etc
    - some fairly vigorous physical work strimming land and tending trees, fencing etc
    - animal sitting so we can have full day out or even go away for night occasionally!
    - help with our Spanish
    - 'mucking in' with cooking / housework / odd maintenance jobs (like painting etc)

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    room in house with own bathroom

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    It's great country for walking, biking, just relaxing. The coast is about 45 minutes drive - some natural places, some 'resorts' in reach.
    Might suit someone who needs time and peace for their own writing / study ?
    Someone wanting a longer stay (overwinter?) would be especially welcome - self contained flat will probably be available in November

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    we have had a couple of workawayers with motor homes - it has worked well

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    one or two horses , one small dog or a couple of cats possible - anything else negotiable!

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week









Host ref number: 348439447411