Join our family in 2018 in one of the most beautiful parts of England, The Cotswolds, UK


United Kingdom

Favourited 168 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Badges

Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    Please contact us if you want to join us for one or two weeks for gardening work and fun evening family meals

    We have space for one non smoking person.

    We live in the Cotswolds, near Stroud. 90 minutes by train to London. Bath and Bristol are near.

    4 hours gardening per day, mainly by yourself, the rest of the time being with the family and our lovely dogs!!
    1 hr a days walking with the dogs.

    You must love nature, we are surrounded by it and it's beautiful here!

    We are looking for someone to come and help with gardening: some heavy work involved. Must have experience and be happy to organise and work alone. You will stay in a beautiful Shepherds Hut in the garden.

    We would also like someone who might like to walk the dog walks and would like to share their favourite meals for everyone to enjoy.

    We are a very creative family of four:
    Dad, Piers worked in TV and films. Mum, Alice is a painter with her own studio at home.
    Blake is 15 and loves mountain-biking and football. Merce is 12 and loves horses, reading books and playing her violin.
    We have two dogs, Jasper the Lurcher and Foxy the Kelpie.

    Alice speaks French, Portuguese and basic Spanish. Both children learn Spanish at school.
    We have a big garden.
    We care about the food we eat. We love cooking healthy meals together.
    We love walking the dogs, being sporty and doing yoga.
    We are a positive thinking family promoting mindfulness and gratitude for life.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a very open, loving and positive family who love learning about other people and cultures. We live in a very beautiful area that is full of alternative-thinking people.

    We think you would benefit from understanding a side of the UK that is very different from the one projected to the world. We would encourage someone to become involved in the local community, where there are many people from places outside the UK. Near us there are many interesting organisations working in education, special needs and art.
    We are happy to help you improve your English.

  • Help


    We are looking for someone to come and help with gardening: maybe some heavy digging involved. Must have some experience and be happy to organise and work alone. You will stay in a beautiful Shepherds Hut in the garden.

    It is really important that you are a positive person, ready to enjoy and engage with us for the time you spend with us. We welcome you with open arms.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    French, Portugese, Spanish

  • Accommodation


    You will live in a beautiful Shepherds Hut in a corner of the garden. It is away from the house, so you will have privacy. It has electricity, high-speed internet (35 Mbps), a small wood-burning stove and a double-bed which can be put away to make a sofa.

    You will have use of a shower and toilet in a separate studio building in the garden and join the family using the kitchen in the house and for relaxing family time together. In the garden we have a fire, hammocks, a swing and a slack-line near the Shepherds Hut and in the Summer it is a beautiful place to hang-out and relax and have a BBQ.

    In the evening we try to eat as a family and we would love you to join us if you want. On weekends, we can be more flexible, but you will be expected to cook a number of meals throughout the whole week and help with preparing and tidying up meals. Our work, being free lance, means we don't really have weekend off, but you can have lots of free time in 7 days.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our local station is Stroud: the train to Paddington takes 90 minutes. Bristol and Bath are 45 minutes by car.

    Non-smokers only.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 345624134838