Help to maintain our farmhouse in peaceful rural France



Favourited 48 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    We are a retired British couple, ex airline crew. We’ve lived in SW France for the last 16 years and have renovated our farmhouse here. This is a quiet rural area about 30 mins from Poitiers. We’re looking for a single person or a couple to help with some basic gardening and decorating. Nothing too taxing with plenty of time off. We enjoy good food, cooking, entertaining and wine! We have a bit of a coffee addiction too! Also cycling and if you’re a couple we have a tandem which you’re welcome to use. We have a small pool and a gym. We also have 2 very tiny friendly dogs.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We speak English obviously and French. We’d happy to help you improve your french, you could also visit our small village library, museum and art gallery.

  • Help


    We are looking for help to maintain our large gardens, mostly weeding and grass cutting along with a bit of help window cleaning (which I hate!) We plan to repoint and renovate the small outbuildings and bread oven this summer so if you are happy to learn or already know how to do it that would be great! We might even get around to doing some decorating, if the sun disappears, we prefer to be outside in good weather.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English French

  • Accommodation


    Double bedroom with en suite shower and toilet. We generally eat our main meal in the evening and would be happy to share that time with you other meals are help yourself, unless you particularly enjoy cooking in which case the kitchen is yours to use.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are a few small towns with markets nearby. Plus some more major tourist attractions like Futuroscope and Vallée des Singes. If you’d like to go further afield we’d be happy to drop you at the train station, where you could take a train to Bordeaux or La Rochelle.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 343759854483