Come help us and enjoy living in one of the most visited towns in the country, Sigiriya, Sri Lanka

Country

Sri Lanka

Favourited 19 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    07/03/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    77.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Home of the Lion Rock, lakes and several historical monuments, Sigiriya is one of the most visited towns in Sri Lanka. I am Chandu, 23 years old enthusiast who wants to make sure people get to see the best that this ancient city has to offers. I working on a project of my own: to set up a restaurant and a hostel with a little campsite in place. I have already finished accommodation.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You'll be working for only a few hours every day and the work hours are flexible. So you will have plenty of time to walk around the town, visit the lakes and for going for hiking if you like that. In my free time, I will be happy to show you around a little as well. We can help you learn Sinhalese and you can learn to cook local meals if you fancy that. You get to experience the best of both worlds: exploring places like a traveler and learning about the culture and ethnicity as a local.

  • Help

    Help

    I am looking for volunteers with various skills. If you have experience in constructing, social media marketing, painting, landscape designing, or web designing, then you are welcomed to send me a message. However, don't worry if your skill set isn't in the list of things I mentioned. You can explain how you can be helpful, and we can discuss how to put your abilities best to work.
    We are also looking for artists and volunteers for socializing with guests. You can help us plan events then we are happy to take you on board. My family does most of the work, and you don't have to work all day just assisting when you can.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and Sinhalese

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We can single occupancy tents for singles and double occupancy tents for couples. The bathrooms are shared but adjacent to the tents and very clean. We will provide the volunteers with three meals a day, essential Srilankan cuisine that my family cooks and eats. You are required to help out with cooking if that's something you enjoy.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You can rent scooters if you wish to go someplace far. However, there are buses for another towns and Tuk-Tuks for local destinations available. However you can also walk to many places nearby.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 339586918422