Help renovate an old farm and take time to relax with our English family in the countryside near Ystad, Sweden

Country

Sweden

new host  

Favourited 16 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/02/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We have bought an old farm in southern Sweden, near Ystad, and we have various simple renovation jobs & taking down of an old farm shed we would like completed before April. For any Workawayers staying with us, they will have separate accommodation with own bedroom, living room, bathroom and kitchen, tv & wi-fi included. Meals are vegan/vegetarian. We are an English family, but speak Swedish too.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We started a new life in a new country, coming from the UK 6 years ago, so have experience in finding a new route to working. Fully immersed in Swedish culture, involved in eco tourism and with personal interest ourselves in meeting like minded people. A sporting family, with the opportunity to join in football training, basketball, walking and cycling (bikes available on site). We have considerable knowledge on the region and can offer help and possible connections for future exploration. The location is in the countryside, with abundant wildlife, birds of prey and very calm, quiet location.
    We have two boys who are very interested in sports, films, culture and environment, who enjoy meeting people. Both fluent English and Swedish speakers, learning Spanish at school. Husband has some knowledge of Spanish too, but not enough to add it as a language. It would be good for all to learn more Spanish, or assistance with schooling assignments in various subjects (only as fun, casually, )

  • Help

    Help

    Help take down an old brick farm building (as shown in our photos), partially, retaining one section to remain as a garden shelter, with new wooden deck construction to build alongside. Some light renovation & painting of wooden window frames and wooden cladding to our single story house..

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Swedish, teenagers both learning Spanish, husband speaks a little Spanish too.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Self-contained, fully furnished apartment. Tv, blu-Ray movies, wi-fi. Modern shower & bathroom, fully fitted kitchen. We would cook daily for our work away guests, but can provide it to eat in privacy of own accommodation, from time to time. Whilst we are happy to eat together often, we are also eating at very irregular times, due to evening and weekend activities and sporting commitments. This at least enables a degree of ‘space’ for all involved. Food is home-cooked, high quality whole food plant-based. Predominantly vegan, but also flexibility of vegetarian and occasionally fish.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Cycling, walking, boxing, football & basketball (both indoor and outdoor, artificial pitches), close to sea & lakes for off-season walks and dog walking. We have a very friendly dog, who loves to be taken for walks, and have very quiet roads which are perfect for walking, running & cycling. Woods behind the farm, with lots of quiet, outdoor space. Bikes available, plus a small van can be used. We also have a gym , with running & rowing machines, weights and punchbag. Around 7km from the town.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 339435526922