Alaskan Cultural Exchange And Outside help in United States

Country

United States

Favourited 106 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    07/09/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    80.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 27 days

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Have some fun in the Midnight sun!

    Taking advantage of our short Alaskan summers we will be working hard in the great outdoors. Lots to do and a short amount of time to do it! I hope to work on our amazing bus home (sanding,painting), work on my gardens and yards with your assistance, and do lots of general clean up/light construction around the place. I am a bit artsy, so we can play in the studio (can teach you stained glass etc...) Give you access to kayaks and bikes for outdoor adventures, and show you some great little hikes and photography spots in our area. We are happy to help you with your English, and would love to find someone to practice Japanese and/or Spanish with.

    Summer is very short! The best time for working on things (and enjoying Alaska ) is June, July and August. Its getting away from us already! Shorter stays are welcome, there is a lot of Alaska to explore! You might get bored if you try to stay with us for too long, but Alaska is a GREAT place to explore and wander off into (carefully :-)

    We are happy to consider possibilities on an individual basis. So, it never hurts to ask :-) (For Example: folks traveling with kids etc.... )

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    My husband and I are both Alaska lovers. He is a computery geologist fellow who likes droning and photography. I enjoy working outside and doing "Artsy stuff" like beading, painting, stained glass, birch-bark basketry, garden art etc...

    We have 3 adult children who are mainly out of the house and traveling the world themselves :-)

    We have 2 cats and a dog who are very much a part of our adventure. Our dog will happily show you around the neighborhood and go for walks with you if you let her.

    We are happy to help with English tutoring, computers, and would love to have some Japanese or Spanish tutoring in return

    We are happy to loan out bikes and Kayaks to experienced folks. If you can swim and are willing to wear a helmet then I will be happy to give some small lessons if you are not experienced in kayaking.

  • Help

    Help

    Light carpentry (tree house help, roofing a small cabin, wood pile help, making rock gardens etc....) , Painting, and Planting in the midnight sun as well as general cleaning up after a long winter (hauling wood to the stump dump etc... ) I am hoping to find an adventurous soul that would like to join me in projects in Chugiak, Alaska. If you like to putter, then this is the place for you!

    We might also work on (systems, sanding, painting) a very cool old vintage bus that we are restoring, and generally puttering around in our delightful summer!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    German: Beginner
    Spanish: Beginner
    Japanese: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    Spanish and Japanese

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We hope to have our small 16 ft vintage "lo-liner" trailer all pulled together to give you a place of your own. It will have a nice little table and chairs out front, and you will have some privacy on the side of the ski trails. It is a bit of a work in progress, but we hope to have it ready. It will be one of the projects if it is not ready :-) And you will probably stay in our super Alaskan vintage bus turned RV instead. Glamping at its best! Both accommodations are "dry", with access tota potty.

    You will be welcome to join our family for meals and the use of indoor running water, washer and dryer, and a good movie on occasion. (we also have a nice public pool within walking distance for showers and open swims).

    We have lots of "stuff". We are happy to share extra boots, coats, sleeping bags etc... if needed. We will loan tents, bikes,kayaks, and camping equipment also if needed. We are on several acres of lighted ski trails for mountain biking and hiking, and right around the corner from the Sled Dog Associations Dog Park (with a small lakes that's great for a paddle).

    Our spaces are non-smoking, non drugs, and drama free. We are a family oriented safe neighborhood, and definitely not a party animal establishment!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a bus stop within walking distance ( It doesn't pick up frequently, but you can get into Anchorage on it)

    You can bike to the town of Eagle River (We are happy to provide a bike and helmet). It has a nice library, supermarkets, McDonalds etc... It is about 3 1/2 miles from us.

    We border on lovely ski trails (hiking trails in summer) connected to a large high-school with a pool, track, and maybe even some tennis courts in the back. There is also a nice small lake a couple of miles away that is a easy biking distance. A great place to relax and get some nice bald eagle pictures if you are lucky.

    In Anchorage there are some nice museums, nature centers, zoo, animal conservation park, and mountains, glaciers, and bears (o my) !

    We have a lovely library and LOTS of great bike trails. We are one of the most bike trail friendly city's around! We have designated bike trails everywhere, which makes biking a fun and relatively safe option for folks.

    Anchorage is a nice sized city. Small enough to bike across, but big enough to have good stores (REI, Cabellas, Bass Pro Shop, etc...) We also have good thrift stores and a nice little university.

    Husband commutes to Anchorage daily and can assist with some dropping off to explore the town.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Up to 22 feet probably..... Not completely sure..... Chat with us.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 338723275328