Learn about gardening, enjoy a quiet and beautiful life near Nivillac, France

  • Favourited 139 times
  • Last activity: 23 May 2024



 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks



  • Description


    Well i'm a single franco-american woman, raised in washington dc, a year in canada, 6 months in mexico, but who has lived a long time in various parts of france : over 20 years in paris before moving to brittany, otherwise in lyons, in provence, montpelier and grenoble. I also spent 3 years in geneva when i was still in school.
    My mother was austrian, so i have relatives in vienna and occasionally spent my vacation in bavaria when i was a teenager so i speak some german.
    I've also travelled twice to egypt and spent 7 weeks in india and nepal in 2017. Plus some short trips to sweden, greece, italy, spain, tunisia, just to mention a few countries i've been to.
    So much for how travelling has broadened my mind!

    Otherwise i'm a music lover, belong to a small choir, follow a dance workshop once a week, meditate, practice mindfulness, enjoy cooking, and love gardening.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Raised on the american continent, educated in france, with an austrian mother
    Interested in music theatre and dance
    Retired after 30 years teaching english to french students, children and adults
    Having travelled to various countries( perhaps less than you!!)
    Concerned with promoting awareness and the respect of all forms of life
    Keen on encouraging dialogue and non violent communication
    I'm sure we will have plenty to share!
    And if you're language oriented, of course we could speak french...

  • Help


    My land requires some maintenance even if i like to keep it wild and let it go its own way. Too many dead branches on the ground are a fire hazard. (some of the trees are fir trees so there's a thick carpet of pine needles ...) so mostly i need help to clean up the forest floor. (no don't worry, i don't mean rake up all the needles!!!). Some of the trees were felled last year so there are also heaps of logs that need to be put into piles and protected from the rain. Otherwise i have a vegetable garden which keeps me quite busy in spring and in the summer . Then there may be a bit of carpentry: extending a garden shed ( i have a lot of tools). But my main request is tending to my vegetable garden, my wood and my trees. That's about it!
    And i wouldn't want to spend more than 4 or maximum 5 hours a day working. And there'll be no rush. One of my priorities is doing things in a mindful way!
    Oh, and if you want to pitch in preparing meals, that would be fine too.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    German: Beginner

  • Accommodation


    As for accommodation : you'll have a room of your own, comfortable and cosy, in my wood frame house. We share the bathroom and kitchen..
    There's also a trailer in the woods if you want more privacy, provided the weather's not too cold...
    Personally i'm vegetarian but can easily cook for meat and fish eaters. People say i'm a good cook! I buy mostly organic food and a bit of wine is nice, but i have trouble with hardcore beer drinkers.
    You may have guessed : i'm a non-smoker too.

    Oh yes, i almost forgot ! I'm one of more and more people who are developing hyper sensitivity to electromagnetic emissions. Which means that i have banned wifi from my home. Which doesn't mean that i have banned internet !! Access to internet is in your room, and cell phones function, although i ask that you turn them off when you're not using them.

    I'm aware that a lot of people won't like this restriction, but who knows, some of you might just like the idea of experiencing what it's like being on your own, without needing to be connected all the time ! Just being here and now ! Reconnecting with our natural state.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I live in a wood frame house in a small wood with the ocean only about 20km away , which is great for walks, visiting shipyards or fishing ports and swimming in summer. My place is an hour away from nantes and rennes, and half an hour from vannes, which are interesting cities to visit. But there are several smaller very picturesque towns nearby too, and the famous salt marshes of guerande, and even magical megalithic sites. I would be glad to show you around. Otherwise, as far as transport is concerned, i can drive you to the nearest bus stops, 6 km away, and from there you can go wherever you want. There's also a community pub nearby with music every saturday nite, and lots of interesting environmental friendly people to meet.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 335539674853

Feedback (10)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.9)

Live on an old farm and watermill with Mum and daughter in the countryside around Lyon, France
Animals and countryside, come and enjoy the good life in Lot-et-Garonne, south west of France