Help me start a completely off grid life near Figueira da Foz, Portugal

Country

Portugal

Favourited 14 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/09/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My desire to be closer to the nature convinced me to buy a little piece of wild nature near Figueira da Foz and its beautiful sea. Am only 1km off grid, but my corner of nature does not attract tourists (only weekend hikers/bikers). So far, it has a canvas tent (I also have an additional summer tent for friends/visitors), solar energy and the basics to cook. I am now working on a water collector, and the garden.

    Also planning to bring chicken and sheep (but that is still a maybe). Am looking for like minded people, willing to escape for a few days and feel how it is to disconnect and start over a different way. Will most probably be ready to welcome you around July-August (April-May might be possible but it's not certain). Come with a smile, your doubts, your desire to share (or not), your sleeping bag, and your water to drink (I filter the one from a spring nearby, not sure you would want that). We can go to the sea and walk around together. Am still new here, so I have not discovered much yet. We can explore together.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I like humble people. There is always something to learn if one is open to. A conversation (I speak French and English, and Creole from the French West Indies), your Art, your stories, my stories, anything you are willing to share (but only if you are willing to).

  • Help

    Help

    If you are good in a garden, then you are already a superstar here. Am not trying to build anything permanent, therefore do not really require construction help. Only the routine: going for water, cleaning the land, gardening, feeding animals (if I decide to welcome a few here).

    Update: just found a path to a natural "pool". Am thinking it would be great to clean it and make it a nice fresh spot to enjoy during the summer.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    I definitely need to work on my portuguese. I speak French.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have a 4.5m diameter canvas tent. and a decathlon tent I can put up in 15 minutes. with the good days already here, it's perfect for the region. I have built a basic place where to cook (on gas), and dry toilets (currently working on building the compost area).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The land is 6-7 kms away from the sea. only 1-2 kms to the train station. 1 km to the river. There is a cycling path going all the way to the city, so it is very safe.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Using a hotspot, 4G.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    No rule for now. Definitely less than 2 hours a day.


Host ref number: 335484246449