Permaculture retreat with good organic food on our self sufficient family homestead in Vojnic, Croatia

Country

Croatia

updated  

Favourited 641 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    23  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/01/2022

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    624

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    97.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    You are welcome on our permaculture family homestead in the green hills in the heart of Croatia!
    We are looking for nature lovers who want to learn all about setting up a sustainable and self reliant life in the countryside. People that can stay for 4 weeks or longer, or even want to stay "forever" in a nice spot on our 12 hectares.
    Your first week will be a practical permaculture and sustainable living course. After this week you can stay for another 3-99 weeks as a volunteer, and go more in depth with the subjects that interest you the most.

    We live a simple, healthy, holistic lifestyle as practical realists. We use permaculture principles to develop our terrain and our life. We care for the earth, for the people around us, for the future and we like to share our abundance with you.
    Our vision is to grow our homestead into a community-village with like-minded people in an edible landscape.
    Our food forest (started in 2015) is almost mature, the food savanna is getting more and more diverse and the camp ground is turning into an edible landscape.

    In this (Corona virus) period we are preparing for better times, by constructing fantastic gypsy wagons, and maybe also a well-designed wooden tiny house for (tourist) families.
    Carpenters, wood workers and people with experience in construction are therefore very welcome!

    Another line of our development is in the kitchen. Our teenage son Nol wants to be a chef so professional cooks are extra welcome! We will provide you with fantastic ingredients and a variety of tools. We like to cook a "peka" or a soup in a cauldron on an open fire, indoors we cook on a wood stove with a big oven, we like to ferment, bake, to smoke meat and fish, we have made our own sausages... Cooking here is fun, especially with Nol.

    On our homestead you can learn about permaculture and how to implement practical permaculture solutions in life. You can learn about self sufficiency and a lot of skills to get on a self sufficient pathway. Like how to setup a low maintenance garden, using animals for certain tasks, scything grass and making hay, wine making, fermenting, composting in many ways...

    We live a simple but abundant, mostly self sufficient life off the land. We love to prepare delicious dishes with ingredients from the garden, the terrain and our stable. We like to make our own (sourdough) bread, crackers, cookies, wine, beer, jams, syrups, sauerkraut, yogurt, mayonnaise, kimchi & kefir.
    We collect various (medicinal) herbs for the kitchen, for tea, tinctures and oils. We make our own cosmetic products and cleaning products.

    We live with quite some animals: 5 cats (mouse & squirrel catchers), 2 dogs (for fun and to guard the other animals), various amounts of rabbits (manure and meat producers) and chickens (compost turners, bug hunters, for eggs & meat), bees (but we are newbie beekeepers) and soon also ducks and sheep (terrain cleaners for milk, wool and meat). And Barbara wants a peacock.

    You can help us (4-5 hours per day, 5 days a week, for at least 3 weeks) with construction work, furniture making, the garden, making the camp site more beautiful and turning the terrain into an edible landscape according to our permaculture designs. The garden needs a fence, the paths need wood chips mulch, we can do some pruning, taking care of the (polyculture, no dig) garden, the forest garden or the food savanna, composting and mulching with various methods, and you can help us with everyday's tasks. Like taking care of the animals, making jam/juice/wine, collecting seeds/mushrooms, hunting bugs...

    You need a certain amount of independence, curiosity, flexibility and fun and don't mind dirty hands, curious cats and noisy kids :-)
    If you eat vegan or your main motivation is consuming travelling and to have a cheap place to stay, please do not apply. 

    Please write a PERSONAL message (to Peter and Barbara) about you, what you want to learn, why, what we can learn from you, your skills and your dream future, so we can setup a good stay for you.
    We normally get more than 400 requests a year so you need to make it personal with your motivation!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We like to share and exchange recipes, music (we have a piano, guitar, wooden flutes, djembe, cajon), inspiring movies, ideas, insights... Peter used to be a blacksmith, Barbara likes to work with wool (spinning, felting, knitting, crochet) and she makes our own herbal health care (tinctures, oils, teas), body care (face & hand creams) and cleaning products (with soda, vinegar, borax, salt, essential oils and such).
    Barbara is a (social) permaculture teacher and Peter coaches people to make (natural) steps in their lives, so you can learn about permaculture and personal development as well.

  • Help

    Help

    You can help us with your skills in wood working. So if you are good in furniture making, you can help with the interior of our gypsy wagons and A-frame tents. If you are experienced in construction work, Peter would be pleased to build cool stuff with you. A reciprocal roof is also on the agenda.

    We are homeschooling our son Nol to become a chef and we definitely need help with that, from professional cooks! We have hosted chefs from Costa Rica, the United States, The Netherlands, New Zealand, Chili and England and we are very grateful for their contributions.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    Croatian: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    Želimo "level up" u Hrvatski jezik pa izvorni govornici hrvatskoga molim vas dođite i pomozite nam!

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Volunteers stay in a caravan or a tent, or in a room in the house, depending on the season.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We're situated on the top of a hill, inland Croatia. The village Vojnic is on a 5km/50 minutes walk distance. In Vojnic there are bars with wifi and there are shops for groceries.

    On Saturdays we sometimes go to the farmers market, to buy things that we don't produce ourselves (yet).

    When it's hot, we go swimming in the river Korana (or Mreznica).

    On a day off you could visit Rastoke (beautiful old, wooden village on the river) or the Plitvice lakes & waterfalls (UNESCO monument), or the nice city Karlovac (half hour bus drive). Also the capitol Zagreb is visitable (just over an hour with the bus). The Croatian coast is under 2 hours by car.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Our wifi isn't perfect, especially in bad weather or at the end of the month, but it works. What always works, is a prepaid SIM card with mobile data.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    On our 12 hectares we have some excellent spots to put your vehicle!

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Friendly dogs can play with our labrador-retriever Nina, or with our border collie Nelson.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






















Host ref number: 125849582927