Families welcome at our old farmhouse and land in the north east of the Netherlands

Country

Netherlands

new host  

Favourited 22 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/09/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    62.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello!
    We are Vera (33) Kowai (41) and Mickey (3), a family living in the north east of the Netherlands. We just bought a 95 year old farmhouse surrounded by meadows, trees and the occasional cow or sheep. It needs a lot of work, and we are doing most of if ourselves. We are learning as we go, we like to learn new things and working with our hands.

    We also spend our time working on the laptop (Vera has her own business), working on getting the house ready for living in it, cleaning up the garden, cooking and eating with friends and family, and playing with Mickey. We try to keep a nice balance between working and relaxing and make sure to take time out to enjoy the outdoors. We would like to live as self-sustainable as possible and are hoping we will get there in a couple of years. For now we try to live as eco-friendly as possible and try to recycle as much as we can. Not easy when rebuilding a house, but we try :)

    Because of the state of the old house (not so good) and the big garden (13.000m2) , we need help from time to time with various projects. Right now we are working on the house, we need to put in a couple of new floors, renew the water system, the electrical, and insulate the walls, floors, ceilings and windows. Also the bathroom needs a lot of work (if you're into luxurious bathing you might not feel at home here. However, we always try to keep things as clean and neat as possible). We have a toilet and a working shower but it's very (!) basic. Working on it! :)

    The garden needs a lot of attending as well, and so does the (not yet existing) vegetable garden. And we need to fill the wood storage. So as you can see, we could use some help :)

    We're looking for some handy people who would like to help us fix up the place who don't mind getting their hand a bit dirty and love being outdoors. Families with kids are more then welcome! Also, we love to cook (a lot) so it wouldn't hurt if you love to eat ;) Experience in 'do-it-yourself-ing' is not required but it would be very cool if you knew how to build stuff and/or how to handle tools.

    We don’t have an extra bedroom to spare yet, but we bought a very nice and spaclous Bell Tent. It can accommodate up to a family of 4. We can also host people who bring their own home on wheels, we have a lot of room for vans and campervans.

    We offer: a nice and friendly place to stay in the far north east of Holland (Google "oldambt" to get an idea.) We have a very basic (!) toilet and a shower, hopefully soon there will be a real kitchen but for now there is a basic place to prepare meals. We cook 1 time a day for everyone who is staying with us. You are welcome to eat with us, or prepare your own food if you prefer it. We eat vegetarian food and can always take in account any dietary wishes you might have.

    We live nearby a small town with a supermarket, tattooshop, hairdressers, a pizza place and a second hand shop (10-12 min by bike). The sea (Waddenzee) is also very close. You can always lend our bikes to go anywhere, or if you want to go a bit further you can take our car.

    We traveled Europe for a year in our Hymer camper and worked through work away ourselves. We had an amazing experience and learned so much. And we met some really incredible people. Now that we bought a home we can’t travel as much as we used to but through workaway we will still be able to meet interesting people and share stories and food.

    If you would like to stay with us for a while please send us a message. We are looking forward to meeting you!
    Hope to see you soon!

    Vera, Kowai & Mickey

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We will teach you everything we know about gardening, building, meditation, cooking, and the area if you are interested :) We love to learn how to cook new dishes, and learn about live in your country. If you play an instrument we'd love to hear it!

  • Help

    Help

    We're looking for some handy people who would like to help us fix up the place who don't mind getting their hand a bit dirty and love being outdoors. Experience in 'do-it-yourself-ing' is not required although it would be handy if you knew how to work with tools.

    We have a huge garden that always needs attending and we are building and fixing a lot. There are always multiple projects to work on. If you like kids and don't mind building sandcastles all day long you can also hang out with Mickey while we work. We love it when that happens!

    If you like cooking or driving, that would also be something you could do. We buy a lot on the secondhand market and so we often drive to places to pick things up.

    We are also planning on painting the outside of the house and we would love to make some cool play things in the garden so if you are into woodworking and building, please be our guest :D

    If you have specific skills like carpenting, we could offer you a paid job as well!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    German: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a Bell Tent and/or a spot for your van of campervan.

    We usually go to bed before midnight. If you're more of a night owl, don't worry. You can stay up as long as you want, the house and garden are big enough to not disturb each other.

    Although we sometimes drink alcohol we tend to not drink excessively. We might have a glass of wine during dinner or a couple of beers by the campfire on some days, and offcourse you are more than welcome to join. Smoking is allowed outside.

    We try to use as man eco-friendly products as possible, since the wastewater goes directly into the groundwater. Therefore we ask you to use eco soaps. If you don't have any, don't worry, you can use ours.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are still getting to know the area ourselves. But we have found some cool towns and a very special bird viewing spot already! There is also a big lake with a small beach nearby and the area is sort of famous for it's thriftstores.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Vera has been a digital nomad for over three years, so we know all about it. We have a pretty stable internet connection and are almost up and running with glass fiber internet. It’s coming! :D

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    YES, please!

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    There are many predator birds (is that a word?) out here, so maybe no very small pets. We have ducks and a cat. She is not too happy sharing her territory with dogs but we have enough space for them to share.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum of 5 hours a day, 4 or 5 days a week


Host ref number: 333246457225