Looking for help around our lovely garden and goats in a romantic valley minutes from downtown Praha, Czech republic

Country

Czech Republic

updated  

Favourited 80 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    18  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    86.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live in a romantic valley 12 minutes from downtown Praha by city transport! We need help with things, that are actually fun to do - but even more fun if we are not alone to do them. Like giving the goats hey, milking them, pruning the trees in the garden, planting flowers, taking the goats for the pasture...
    We want You to be happy with us, so we want You to feel good, work only when You will enjoy doing it. You can, of course, also venture thru the historical city or hike in the charming landscape of our surroundings, play with the goats, baby goats, sheep, ducks, rabbits, cats or dog that live with us.
    Of course, we want You to be satisfied and we also want us to be happy. It is hard to predict how we will "click" together, how the mutual chemistry will work. So we can leave things flexible for now and we will see
    We provide ample food. I can teach you how to hypnotize, share my experiences from my travelling...
    Acommodation: You can have a private room in the attic. That place is heated only thru the ceiling of our living room that is underneath. The walls are insulated, so from March to October it should be acceptable. Especially with a good sleeping bag. We can provide the bag, if you will not have any. And a sheet and pillow. If You will still be cold, we will try to find a solution somehow - we dont want you to be uncomfortable in our house.
    Second option is a tent in the garden. By the creek, under the apple trees, under the spruces - the choice is Yours. We have a tent that You can use. And mats.

    So, this is one project. Then, I have something for nature lovers, people who enjoy moments just with rocks, water and goats:

    I am part of a new ecological/nature-protecting project now (an update: this second project is over for now. Most work will be now in the garden and around the house and playing with our little girl, see above. This second project will continue sometime in Oct/November, just for 20 more days). We will need volunteers to accompany a herd of goats (9-15) - in the most spectacular places of Prague, natural preserve (grazing of goats is neccessary for the preservation of the natural habitat)

    The herd will be there non-stop. Someone has to check on the goats twice a day, if they have all they need.

    One note: workawayinfo is a great site, I think. One thing I find a bit detrimental is the system of references/feedback. Once a host will get a negative reference and respond to it, both references will be hidden from the public, accordnig to WA policies. The administrators of this site are saying that it is for the reason that there is not much space for negative emotions. I agree with that, but the problem is that then there is no way how to make things right.
    Think of that situation (and it does happen now and then): when we get a person with a psychiatric diagnosis or personality disorder as a volunteer, sometimes we manage to make that person happy and satisfied, but sometimes we just cannot. With some personalities, no matter what You do, it is not enough. Then, such a person leaves a negative reference. We have a chance to answer and correct the possible misinterpretations, but then both references get hidden by the admins and there is just a sign: "negative". When prospective volunteers see that, they might get a strange feeling. If there will be just one more such a creep, the host profile will get hidden from searches - that way, everything looks positive, but at some cost.
    Unless Workaway will modify their policy a bit, there is only one advice:
    Look at other references, to compare. We alredy hosted over 10 volunteers, some of them for three weeks or more. We have also over 100 positive other similar platforms.


    Petr

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can learn how to live in harmony with the goats and with the world. We live a full life but we consume very little resources. We can teach You how to become a hypnotist or how to benefit from hypnosis (it is a very healing skill)(but this is, of course, voluntary), how to travel with very low budget and resources, we can teach You Czech, English, Polish, Russian, Slovak languages, etymology, Czech literature... and, of course, since we live very close to downtown Praha (Prague), You will get to know this beautiful city.

  • Help

    Help

    You do not need to have any special skills. Just willing to share our experience - we love our goats and our charming garden and 300 years old house and just want to make the place comfortable for anybody and fun to be here. We dont require hard work from You, we will be happy if You will be happy :-)

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    fluent English, Polish, Russian, Slovak, partially German, Ukrainian, Spanish, all slavic languages

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    In the attic (separate room) or in a tent. Food we have plentiful, abundance, all kinds, and we will gladly share it all with You.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Time off? Anything! Seeing Prague, other historical towns in Czech, castles, biking, hiking, - You name it! City bus takes 12 minutes to metro Dejvicka and metro takes about 5 minutes to downtown. River is 5 minutes away, rocks as well.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week - around the house. If accompanying goats, then perhaps day on, day off...

prints@seznam.cz

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (3.3)

Cultural exchange: (3.0)

Communication: (3.7)
















Host ref number: 331225456165