Help us with our 17th century house and garden renovation project in Cornwall, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 97 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/11/2020

  • Badges

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello fellow workawayers! We are Annie and Paddy and in October 2018 we bought a 17th century farm cottage which we are now renovating inside and out. We live near the seaside harbour town of Falmouth but the house is set in a peaceful hamlet on a large country estate in the countryside.

    In 2016-17 we travelled across the Eurasia continent on our tandem bike. We stayed in some workaways on our way and spent many happy night staying with locals.

    We both work full time so we are not the best for those who are looking for a workaway where you will be working together all the time. We need people who are happy taking initiative and getting on with stuff when we are not there. We would prefer a couple but would be very interested in hosting individuals especially if you have carpentry, decorating or building experience and skills.

    We would love to continue to connect with people from all over the world while learning ideas and skills from others who are interested in old house renovation and gardening - getting some help on the many jobs in the garden and house would be great whether you are experienced or not. There is plenty to do!

    The house is comfortable enough and we can offer a big bedroom for a single person or a couple. We have a cat called Om and 2 chickens called Daphne and Brida.

    We live in a beautiful part of Cornwall very close to the Helford river which is an area of outstanding natural beauty.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    House renovation, English language, plumbing, slate scantel roofing, decorating, experiencing Cornish culture!

  • Help

    Help

    Gardening and planting, general labouring, decorating, plastering, wood work, roofing, building work, repairs, plumbing, upholstery, repairing wooden windows, water drainage, engineering

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Single or Double bedroom, furnished with access to bathroom
    and kitchen (shared)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Cornwall is a famous holiday destination. If you enjoy the outdoors, such as walking, hiking and climbing then there are good areas near us. Water sports like sailing, surfing, canoeing and paddle boarding also. We also row with our local pilot gig team. There are some amazing beaches very near us and lots of interesting cultural sites to visits. Falmouth has many festivals including the oyster festival, beer festival and sea shanty festival. You can also easily visit the Scilly Islands.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 4.5 days a week



Host ref number: 329873977474