Welcome Creative gardeners to the Sapphire Coast of NSW, Wallaga Lake, Australia

  • Favourited 3 times
  • Last activity: 6 Jul 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Josephine and Scott live on the Sapphire Coast of NSW, five hours south of Sydney. Our one acre property is on the shoreline of Wallaga Lake a short ride or drive from Bermagui. We live on Djiringanj country, home to First Nation inhabitants for 64,000 years.

    Scott is retired after working in project management in Australia and Southeast Asia. I moved from theatre to academia and continue to do some university teaching and research.

    We are creating a garden that is connected to the unfarmed wooded grasslands at the back of our property. It’s what you would call a habitat garden that is now attracting hundreds of birds, kangaroos, echidnas, bandicoots etc. The large fenced off vegetable garden is constantly broken in to by a greedy Wallaby.

    We are project people, some beautiful old garden benches I bought at auction that need painting, trees that need clipping, making a pond and sitting area with a view of the lake and so forth. We are looking for some assistance with the projects. Gardening and/or building skills would be given priority.

    We want you to have a great time in this ancient country. We have kayaks, bikes, maps, pamphlets and loads of ideas for where you can go. We can even show you some amazing sights in the wider surrounds, if you want. It’s a house full of books and magazines. We both love cooking and luckily we live on land and sea that provides an abundance of beautiful food.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This is an ancient land and culture and we will encourage you to find out about the history.

    We love cooking, we love growing, we love finding out about new vegetables, spices and herbs. I have been learning about and growing local “bush” food and i’m happy to share the little I know.

    I am sixth generation Australian with a convict past. Scott arrived in Australia on a boat from the US. We love this land and are happy to share what we know. We also both love learning about other cultures, other ideas, other ways of seeing the world.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for assistance with gardening and small garden projects. Tasks might include sanding & painting garden furniture, helping us create an in-ground pond for local frogs and birds, building garden boxes, planting and pruning shrubs and trees. We have equipment here and garden boots, hats, gloves and sunscreen, but you will need some workwear. Gardening experience and/or building skills will be important. Propagation skills highly regarded. Household cleaning also possible.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will be staying in a wing of the house that has its own bathroom and study come lounge room and of course wifi. There is a double and a single bedroom.

    The main living area and kitchen are open plan. We will cook the meals unless you prefer otherwise.

    See pictures.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Want to know more about the area? Some suggested search words to google:

    Bermagui, Wallaga Lake, Narooma, Cobargo, Tilba Tilba
    King Merriman, Yuin Nation
    Four Winds Festival
    Honor Bread
    Blue Pool
    Mimosa Rocks
    Mount Gulaga
    Walpengo

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have a large study in an open area or a small desk in a room that is easier to heat on cold days. I teach at University and use the internet regularly for zoom meetings. Intent connection works well. I haven’t tried the connection for video games so can’t vouch for that.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 328888656727

Feedback

Experience life on a farm in the beautiful Northern Rivers NSW
Help with renovation (DIY), gardening, organising and house work in Brisbane, Queensland, Australia