Come and join a community house in a Swedish mountain village in Gäddede, Sweden

Country

Sweden

Favourited 663 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    30  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/10/2020

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi there, we live in a big old, wooden schoolhouse of 800 m2 with a lake below and mountins behind, in Jormvattnet, a mountainvillage in the middle/north of Sweden. Basically we are on the border to Norway.
    At the moment there are only two of us, Pexo and Maria plus a few chickens. We have friends and family visiting often, so sometimes we are more people in the house. A soap and bodycare workshop also resides here and a farmshop at some point. When we are more people living in the house, we cook togheter and have gatherings around things that concern the work of the house and what comes up in the proccess of living together. We like music, food, to socialise, and to live the life we are offered here where the sun lights up the summer sky all night long and the winters are tough and booring :)

    Worlkwise it's a lot of outdoors work mainly in summertime, woodstacking, gardening and renovations takes place.
    Many possibilities to walk in the forrest and in season (Aug-Sept) pick berries or mushrooms. Fishing is big up here. Moose and raindeer, even bear is not uncommonly seen. Wintertime can be grim and isolated with lots of snow, barrels of wood to haul and cold weather. But also cosy and calm with a live fire in the livingroom, sauna in the basement and lots of indoorsspace. Different workshops around the house allows for opportunity to be creative if one is interested. Skiing and other winteractivities is best in March and April when the light is coming back.

    If interested, hit the mailbox.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Art Projects

  • Help

    Help

    Big jobs in summer is stacking firewood outdoors, weeding, planting and painting. In the winter snowshovelling, taking in firewood and depending on season, renovation and maintanance, painting, scraping windows and heaters to be repainted. General help with cleaning and other housework, cooking if interested. Making soap and scincare or packaging the same occurs sometimes. If you have artistic skills you can also get to express that if it´s fitting somewhere.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    German: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Comfortable sleeping indoors, good food.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This is quite far north and takes atleast a full day to reach from Stockholm. Coming in from Trondheim, Norway is also a viable option.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Jormwater, the village is on the left brink on the lake.
















Host ref number: 328315942993