Help with with gardening/weeding and home maintenance in Mullumbimby, Byron Bay Area, Australia

Country

Australia

updated  

Favourited 15 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 16 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello we are a family living in the beautiful Byron Shire, a famous beach area in sub-tropical Australia. Our little town of Mullumbimby has lots of alternative culture and delicious healthy food options. We recently renovated a home on the edge of town (15 min walk to town, 7 min bike ride). We also built a cute wooden cabin by the Mullumbimby creek that runs on along the back of our property that is where you'd be staying! Our home has a large, natural (no chlorine) pool with a diving board, hot tub on a deck overlooking our lush tropical gardens and a bali hut to entertain or relax in. We have free WIFI.

    Our family consists of my husband, Craig, and I and our two children, Gus aged 16 and Nells aged 11 so they are fairly self sufficient and happy, easy going children. We have two dogs that we consider a big part of our family, the dogs are inside/outside dogs.

    We consider our health to be very important and choose to eat organic, local market produce wherever possible. We eat a mixed diet of vegetarian and meat (we were also for 13 years) so eat a lot of vego food such as Mexican and Asian style foods. We do eat meat but it's not the biggest part of our meals. But we can accomodate any food choices.

    Our lush home & cabin sits on an acre backing onto the Mullumbimby Creek and with all the amazing sun and rain we get here our plants, and weeds, grow, grow and grow! Therefore we need help keeping our garden tidy and weed free! We need some general weeding and mulching that our garden needs to look it's best.

    We'd also appreciate someone who likes dogs and is happy to take them for a walk and toss the ball/frisbee to our active border collie!

    We own an ecommerce business and work away from home so there will be lots of time and space on your own during the day times (I am in and out of the home when not working). We look forward to welcoming you into our home and family!
    Many thanks, Lainie, Craig, Gus and Nell

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will learn about sub-tropical gardens and plants here in Australia. If interested you can learn how to cook very healthy, nutricious Mexican and Asian style foods because I love to cook. They can also learn about how to run an internet company outside of a city if this is something that interests them. They will also learn how an average family lives, works and celebrates life here in Mullumbimby and Australia. We are an active family going to Ultimate Frisbee every Monday evening so you are welcome to join us. We also go to the beach most weekends where you are welcome to join in and learn about the ocean and how to manage it safely.

  • Help

    Help

    *️ Gardening, pulling weeds, mulching the garden. Tending to the vegetable patch such as feeding them liquid fertilizer, picking vegetables to bring inside for dinner etc.
    * * Home maintenance such as pressure cleaning outside pavers, cleaning windows, other jobs that may be suitable to skills of the people staying
    *️ Walking and tossing a ball/frisbee with our dogs & keeping guinea pigs feed and watered
    *️ Sometimes shopping and cooking a basic meal (if cooking is a skill you have and want to share)
    *️ Happy to use any other skills you may have around our home

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    50sqm Wooden Cabin located 50 metres from the main home overlooking the Mullumbimby creek down the back of our yard so very private and quiet with a big undercover outside deck. The cabin has a functioning basic kitchen to make meals and a good sized bathroom. There is one bedroom with a double bed and single bunk beds (sleeps 3 or 4 people) but 2 comfortably. Ideally a couple works best for this space.
    The lounge area is large and has a big couch and smart screen TV hooked up to the internet. Although the wifi isn't 100% reliable down the back of our property.

    We have bikes you can use to ride into town (10 min bike ride) and I am in and out a lot so can get lifts with me. There is a bus in Mullumbimby that takes you to Byron Bay and Brunswick heads but it's not very frequent.

    We would be open to sharing evening meals with our family. I cook approx 4 times a week, the rest are leftovers.
    As mentioned we can accomodate any food choices from vegetarian through to meat eaters. If you want something specific we can buy this for you to eat while you stay with us.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Other than the hours you choose to work you will have free time and can stay in your private cabin relaxing or head out and about in the amazing Byron Bay area. The beach is 15 mins drive away at Brunswick Heads. Because most of the work required is outdoors you can choose your own hours, but with the heat here early mornings or later in the afternoon/evenings would be ideal but up to you.

    I am driving around the area all the time and are happy to drive/pick up within reason and if it flows with where I am going. There are buses to the local towns such as Byron Bay and Brunswick Heads but you need to time it well as they are not very frequent.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Our cabin down the back of our property has WIFI connection but it's not 100% reliable all the time. However the WIFI in our house that can be accessed all the time is reliable and can be used for work purposes. It can be accessed as far out as the Bali Hut/Poolside area 50 mtrs from the house.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have some front parking spaces in our front yard and side vehicle access down to the cabin where a large vehicle or bus can be parked temporarily.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 326754412358