2 hrs North of Toronto, Canada- private living space, near beaches, nature, biking, kayaking, boating

Country

Canada

Favourited 453 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    26  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/11/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Before inquiring, please take a look at our calendar, we keep it up to date, and if red, we are not available to host. Also, please read first about the help we are looking for and the age restriction on the bottom. Thank you.

    We are located about 2 hours north of Toronto near the longest freshwater beach in the world - 18km of powdery white sand! The water is is lovely and clean and gets nice and warm in summer. We have a boat and in hot weather like to have fun on the water tubing & swimming. Our house is surrounded by numerous hiking and biking trails. We are located in a quiet suburban neighbourhood on the edge of town, 16km away from the crowds and nightlife located at beach 1 (we are actually closer to Collingwood than beach 1). Shopping and restaurants are about 3 km away (around 35 minute walk, or 10 minute bike ride) and the beach is another 6 minute walk from there. There is a bus stop at the end of our road for transit that can take you to the shopping area, and from there to the various beaches or to Collingwood, a very pretty town nearby, but we also drive to these places regularly and are happy to drop off our guest there, or at the beach. There is bus service to/from Barrie, the next largest city.

    In exchange for about 4 1/2 hours of teaching per weekday, we offer room and board. Accommodation consists of a separate full apartment in the lower level of our home, which has a living area, a bedroom with a double bed and a kitchen. There is a private entrance. We will provide one hot home-cooked meal and we provide you groceries to make your own breakfast and light meals like soups/sandwiches (unless you wish to prepare your own main meal as well due to dietary requirements). The accommodation is most suitable for a single person or couple, though we can offer a second single bed if required.

    We offer high speed wired or wireless internet access from your apartment.

    We try to enjoy some of the many events and festivals nearby in the summer and gladly take along our workaway guests.

    Our household consists of my husband Brian, Daniel, a university student in engineering and myself, Doris. We are an easygoing, well travelled family and have done a number of workaways and home exchanges in the past.

    PLEASE NOTE that we cannot host anyone younger than 22 years old, please do not inquire if you have not yet reached this age. Due to allergies there is absolutely no smoking in the house.

    Also note that you will be responsible to obtain your own insurance and ensure that you are in compliance with immigration regulations.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have hosted a number of people over the years, and always enjoy giving guests a glimpse of "real Canadian life" and sharing our own travel stories while we have fun learning about our guests' own culture and hearing about their travel adventures. We encourage our guests to cook and share with us dishes they love. Between us in our family we have quite a unique background of skills, and are happy to share and teach whatever you would like to learn, from computer/internet/marketing, to hands-on mechanical and electronics and much more.

  • Help

    Help

    Our son is commuting to a university which is more than 1.5 hours one way, so he often does his studying on his own rather than attend all lectures. He is quite capable of learning new concepts by himself, so he does not need "tutoring" or teaching help in specific subjects. However, he finds it helpful to have someone around who just keeps him on track while studying, to helps keep him organized in his paperwork (yikes he is messy!) , basically something that perhaps normally a study group with his fellow students would fulfill, but because of our location that is not as easily possible. Note this is not a "teaching" assignment, this is not something we would alternatively hire someone to do - he either does it himself, or I help him.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You would stay in a separate apartment inside our large home - this consists of bedroom with a double bed, living area with tv, partial kitchen, private bathroom with shower and a private entrance.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    PLEASE NOTE: WE ARE NOT ABLE TO HOST ANYONE YOUNGER THAN 22.

    We are located in a subdivision that is about 3 km from the nearest shopping area, about 3.5 km to beaches. All within easy bike distance (or longer, i.e. 25-109 minute walk). Local transit, as well as transit to neighbouring communities, is available.

    If you Google Wasaga Beach, you will find information that is related mostly to the beach 1 area, which is actually further away from our location than Collingwood, so if you read about the crowds and nightlife, this does not apply to this area whatsoever. Please google Collingwood, Ontario, as well as The town of Blue Mountains.

    It is up to the workawayer to ensure that you are covered by health insurance and comply with immigration regulations.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    about 4 1/2 hours, 5 days a week

The kitchen and living room of the separate apartment, this would be your private space.
Your private bathroom.
The bedroom - please note that there is just one double bed, so space is suitable for couple or single person.
your separate entrance
Our house is located in a subdivision facing a golf course













Host ref number: 324755144c11