Join a small family horse farm in the South Okanagan Valley, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 123 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/05/2022

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    [Please respond to host in German or English]

    We are a family of three and have a small horse farm in the South Okanagen Valley. We have eight horses and three dogs as well as 15 chickens. A kind and gentle approach to riding and being around the animals is a must. Our working days are varied and include; household work such as (cleaning windows/floors etc), gardening around the house and of course the daily chores of our animals.
    We are looking for someone with riding experience, who is physically fit and can work independently. In return we offer meals and lodging, free internet access and a nice separate room with a private bathroom and connection to our family home. You are more than welcome to use our family pool.
    We are happy to provide you with a bicycle and a kayak to view and discover the beautiful sights of the Okanagan Valley and lake shores. We will treat you with respect as you were a family member.
    We will take you on trips to town and will show you the area and of course you can ride a horse to see the beautiful landscape of the Okanagan.
    The working hours are from eight o'clock in the morning to one o'clock in the afternoon, and the afternoon is to your leisure.
    We are looking forward to hear back from you.

    We are only taking people with a work visa
    -----

    Wir, eine drei köpfige Familie mit einer erwachsener Tochter, sind eine kleine Pferdefarm in South Okanagen Valley. Neben acht Pferden leben hier drei Hunde und 15 Hühner. Unsere Arbeitstage sind abwechslungsreich und beinhalten unter anderem Haushaltsarbeiten, Gartenarbeit rund um das Haus und natürlich die tägliche Versorgung unserer Tiere.
    Wir suchen jemanden mit guten Reitkenntnissen, der körperlich fit ist und selbstständig arbeiten kann. Im Gegenzug bieten wir Kost und Logie, freien Internetzugang und ein schönes separates Zimmer mit eigenem Bad und Anschluss an die Familie.
    Gerne stellen wir euch ein eigenes Fahrrad und Kayak zur Verfügung, auch der Familienpool darf natürlich mitbenutzt werden.
    Die Arbeitszeiten sind erwünscht von acht Uhr morgens bis ein Uhr Nachmittags, der Nachmittag steht zur freien Verfügung.
    Wir nehmen nur Leute mit einem Work Visa .

    Wir freuen uns auf dich

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    - Language (English and German)
    - Various activities (including horse riding, canoeing, hiking, swimming, experiencing the vibrant and warm weather of the Okanagan and much more)

    -----

    - Sprache (Englisch und Deutsch)
    - Verschieden Aktivitäten (unter anderem reiten, Kanu fahren und vieles mehr)

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    - Household Maintinence
    - Cleaning
    - Garden around the house
    - Care and movement of the animals
    - Winter (February, March): split wood, fill the wood stove, cooking, independently running the household, groceries shopping, laundry, looking after the animals (dogs, horses, chickens), snow removal, working hours depend on the weather (4-5 hours)
    - April-May: creating a garden space
    -----

    - Haushalt
    - Garten rund ums Haus
    - Pflege und Bewegung der Tiere
    - Winteraufgaben (Februar, März): Holzhacken, Ofen heizen, Kochen, Haushalt selbstständig erledigen, Wäsche waschen, Einkäufe, Tiere versorgen (Hunde, Pferde, Hühner), Schnee schaufeln; die erwünschte Arbeitszeit gestaltet sich im Winter je nach Wetterbedingungen flexibel, erwünscht sind dabei 4-5h am Tag
    - April-Mai: selbständiges Anlegen eines Gartens

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Separate room with private bathroom and entrance

    -----

    Separates Zimmer mit eigenem Bad und Eingang

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Host ref number: 324296322818