Looking for help in lovely beach house on Stewart Island, New Zealand

Country

Australia

Favourited 24 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/10/2019

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I have a lovely beach house on Stewart Island that needs some TLC as I've been away for a few years. I'm going over in November to paint and do some hedge trimming etc and would really appreciate some help. Someone with building experience to help replace a boundary board would be amazing.
    The fishing is great and the walks are amazing. Not to mention the bird life including kiwi.
    Stewart Island is a real gem at the bottom of New Zealand with only 380 people living there. It's fantastic if you like nature, treks, birds, fishing and peaceful beautiful places.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Stewart island is a unique place and we have many discerning visitors. It's a great community and lots to do if you like nature.
    We only have one shop and one pub so if you're after nightclubs it's not the place for you.
    If you like to get in touch with nature then it's absolutely the place for you. Many people come to spot Kiwi.

  • Help

    Help

    I'm especially looking for someone who has experience in building and preparing a house for painting and painting as they are the most imminent jobs. Being able to wield a chainsaw on an unruly hedge would also be great.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A lovely room in a gorgeous house overlooking the harbour and a couple of minutes walk to the village.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Plenty of native forest walks and beach walking to be done. There are fishing charters, pelagic boat charters, bird sanctuary island of Ulva, people to meet, pub to go to, fishing off the wharf. There are one hour to 12 day walking tracks with huts along the way.
    Kayaks to rent, Padi diving, boat trips, great food especially the seafood and did I mention the friendly people?

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 323833134249