Come and help our family with the kids and home in Naxos, Greece

Country

Greece

Favourited 266 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/11/2022

  • Badges

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Christos and I (Maggie) are working sculptors with a small organic farm and two wonderful children who are turning 7 and 10. We live in a beautiful agricultural valley surrounded by mountains and sea. During the summer months we are hosting marble carving and mosaic workshops almost everyday. We would like to invite individuals who love kids and children activities, like to cook, and have to ability to organise daily duties independently. We have a small stone house in the middle of the village of Galini (separate from the farm) where you will feel immersed in the local Greek culture, and history.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have a blended, multicultural, family. Greek-American. Here you can see the village life, immerse yourself in the Greek language and culture. Our villages are located in an agricultural (with breathtaking views, mountains and sea) valley filled with farms, orchards, animals. I study also Permiculture if we have time to work in the garden. I will show you how to carve marble and join in at a workshop. On Sundays we try to organise a BBQ, you can join us or have the day free.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    From 9 AM until 2 PM I will need someone to be with the kids. This can also change to an afternoon time since I host workshops 2 times a day. Some rare occasions I may ask you to spend 10 hours in one day with a 2 hour break but I will give you a 3 day weekend or pay you for your extra time. Your duties will include light household chores, dishes, laundry organising, and sweeping and moping and some cooking. Of course my kids will need to get involved! I usually spend a couple hours just keeping the house this side of chaos. Then the rest of the time you can go for a walk, to the park, play games ect. They are super creative and fun. They love building projects and making up their own games. On days I don't have workshops we can spend a couple hours working in the garden planting and mulching before we break for lunch.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Greek: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    English is my first language. I speak Greek and am interested in learning more French, Italian, and Spanish.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There are a couple of options for accommodation depending on what is most comfortable for you. I have a small studio in the village that is near our house. In the garden we have built a stone dome hut for sleeping up to 2 people. It has pine wood floors with mat and pillows but is more to the side of a camping situation. So those who are looking to unplug there is no electricity as of yet. You will have use of the the grounds outdoor kitchen and outhouse. We are very close to our house and the village for showering, charging phone, and using the internet. I may or may not have the studio in the next year I will know in February.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Galini is 1 1/2 kilometer from Amitis Beach, 1 kilometer from Eggares, and 1 1/2 kilometer from the garden. The river valley has hiking trails that lead to the mountain villages. The village is 7 kilometres from the main port town Chora. You can bike, take a bus, or a taxi. There are several tavernas, mini-markets, cafes, free wi-fi within walking distance. Other things happening on the island are archaeological sites, art exhibitions, music, and night life.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    You can park in the village or on the farm.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 321687944579