Looking for help with the gardening and around the house in coastal Little Compton, RI, USA

Country

United States

updated  

Favourited 41 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    9  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    05/12/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Barbara and Bob.
    We live in a single home. We have adult sons and a daughter and grandchildren who visit during the summer.

    We are energetic people who enjoy many outdoor activities and grilling/cooking great food (outside and inside).
    During the fall and winter some help with firewood would be good. Also, if we get snow, perhaps, shoveling the deck and walkway. We have a snowblower for the driveway.
    In the spring we plant a large vegetable garden so we can enjoy healthy foods. We compost our vegetative waste for our future garden soil and to help the environment.
    We do lots of projects around our yard. Some are big, some are small. Here are a few: We built our patio and pool decks ourselves. Bob installed our solar panel system to power our home a few years ago. Last year during the pandemic we built a wood fired pizza oven so we can enjoy homemade pizza!
    We have other smaller projects always in the works.

    Career life:
    I am a teacher and Bob is a boat captain/commercial fishing/marine construction. He has a somewhat flexible schedule.

    We are conscious of the COVID-19 virus and take safety and health seriously. We have been fully vaccinated, but are still cautious.

    Location & things to do:
    Little Compton is a quiet, little, scenic, coastal town that, thankfully, has barely been affected by COVID cases. It is a perfect location for observing nature. Bike riding is very popular here. We are within 8 miles of the beach, quaint shops, art galleries, farm stands, walking trails, etc. Other local activities also include kayaking, surfing, swimming, fishing, sailing, etc. There are apple orchards and pumpkin patches nearby , etc. (seasonal)

    Expectations:
    We are looking for someone interested in short -term stays (2-3 weeks) doing yard chores, mostly help with gardening (spring/fall), splitting/stacking firewood, filling wood furnace (winter), some outdoor projects, and, perhaps, light housework.
    Winter: most tasks would be indoors.
    (4-5 hours per day.)

    Meals: We eat vegetables, grains and meats. (Mostly Chicken, seafood) We try to prepare nightly meals. Many other foods are available in the refrigerator or cupboard for Workawayers to share during the day. Workawayers who prefer “specialty” foods are welcome to store them in the refrigerator or cupboard so they can prepare them, when desired.

    Workaway volunteers should, ideally, have their own form of transportation because here is no local public transportation in our area. We have bicycles, but a car makes it easier during your time off.

    Accommodations: We have one guest room or room to park your own camper van. We have reliable and fast Internet access in the house.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Summer season: Local history, gardening, enjoy nature, learn about beekeeping and honey retrieval(fall), making wood-fired pizza, etc. Enjoying coastal RI beaches and nature.

    Winter: just a few hours from ski resorts and mountains for snow lovers!

    English tutoring, if needed.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for an energetic person (or couple) who doesn't mind getting up early and helping around the house and yard.

    We have many options:
    *In addition to solar, we use firewood to heat our home and so, if you are willing to help with splitting and stacking wood, and filling the wood furnace, that is one job.

    *Snow removal in the winter, if it snows.
    *Weeding the garden is another activity with which we could use some help in spring/summer/early fall; or raking leaves in the autumn months.

    *Summer/ fall harvesting the garden and freezing or canning.

    *Pool maintenance

    *We have many other possible projects, that if we have time between our work schedules, we may take on some other projects,
    Such as interior painting, etc.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    I am willing to tutor in English and share cultural history.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    No pets, please, unless you are traveling with your own camper.

    We have a guest room in our home. We also have a Bantam camper that can house Workawayers for short-term stays during the summer months. It has a bathroom and kitchenette, with mini refrigerator, microwave oven, and gas burners. Heat and AC, Queen and double bed. This will give you more privacy.

    We have one guest room in the house. We can accommodate one or two (couple) Workawayers.

    NOTE: There is NO PUBLIC TRANSPORTATION in our area. You may want your own vehicle to get around. We do have bicycles.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The area is so beautiful during the summer and autumn seasons. It is a quiet coastal farm town.
    If you love the outdoors, the coastal landscape and woodland paths nearby are breathtaking. Local vineyards and farms to pick your own blueberries, apples or pumpkins. (Seasonal)
    Many people bike and walk in the area to enjoy its beauty. Nearby beach is popular with (summer) swimmers and surfers. There are rivers for kayaking, summer sailing from the harbor and fresh or salt-water fishing. We enjoy many of these outdoor activities and grilling/cooking great food (outside

    We have off-road parking.
    We have bicycles, if you like riding.
    Plenty of room to park a camper too.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Plenty of privacy and parking on our back lot (Seasonal: it is too cold in the winter.)

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.8)








Host ref number: 319526458711