Become a Family Farm Helper & Friend in the beautiful hills of western Wisconsin, Fountain City, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 60 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/07/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    305

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 11 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a farm in the beautiful hills of western Wisconsin. Our town is a small one of about 900 on the Mississippi River.
    As of right now our family only consists of my husband and myself. My stepson just moved out. He’s 22 and has Down syndrome. He will be home on occasion. He has now moved on to an independent home to help him advance in his skills. He helped some on the farm, but was limited with supervision.
    We were dairy farmers, but now converted to all beef. We also have Thoroughbreds we are breeding for racing. We have ex race horses as well.
    We are looking for a hard working, caring individual that loves the outdoors, animals, clean in appearance and knows how to clean stalls etc. That’s a major job here. MUCKING! 🐎🐴🐂🐄🐶🐱
    We have a mobile home that is furnished for the individual to live in and internet as well. The winters are bitter cold. So that’s something to consider. My husband was born on this farm, his father and grandfather as well.
    There are many repairs that are constant.
    We just completely run out of time because of only two of us here. We love farming and hope to share our love for it as well as offering new skills and adventures to others along side of our daily routines.

    P.S. I write, compose and play music. We have lots of instruments. Just need more time to get back to recording again. HELP!🤓
    Thanks So Much!
    TJ

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Other

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Like I stated: Great for a Resume!
    At least 10 skills would be learned and mastered. We are very patient as long as someone has the energy and willing spirit.
    They might also have to help in delivering calves and baby horses.
    This is the place where the Eagles 🦅 gather. Lots of great photo shots. I play music as well. So chance to play or learn music as well. Lots to do here and have fun at the same time.
    I’m retired Military also and have traveled the world. I love listening and experiencing other individuals cultures and passions as well.

  • Help

    Help

    Maintenance, manure shoveling, carpentry, cleaning, raking, gardening, crops, moving cows to new grazing fields, mowing lawn, painting, climbing, building fence and maybe some equipment operating.
    Doesn’t have to be skilled in any of these, just a willingness to learn, teachable and not an argumentative person.
    I am a woman with many skills and can do all skills here and then some. So gender is not a factor at all.
    We do have a sawmill also, so we mill our own lumber.
    This opportunity would be a great Resume builder.
    *️️️️️*️️️️️We are very easy people to get along with. 😃

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The hills and valleys here are just breathtaking. We are in an all farming community. So it’s basically one big family. Close to the Mississippi River. There’s fishing and we have a big deer hunt on our property once a year. Person would be invited to Church and all family functions. Individual would live by themselves in our guest mobile home. That’s completely furnished. Meals and food provided.
    Lots of places to hike. We are close to the Minnesota boarder. Cross the Mississippi over to our main shopping town of Winona, MN. Winona has a lot of sites to offer as well. Sugar loaf, Garvin Heights area. These are high lookout points and parks. The people here always wave and are very friendly. We aren’t very far from were Laura Engals Wilder lived.
    Lots of history here.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I mentioned some sites prior. But transportation will be provided when you chose to go places. Local theatre also. Bike riding, snow shoeing, cross country skiing also.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 319192284226