Join our family and help with the farm in Caramulo, Portugal

Country

Portugal

updated  

Favourited 73 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    7  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    04/12/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    96.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello to everyone! We are Yulia (29), Miguel (28) and Amalia (4) and more than a year ago we moved to a farm in the zone of Caramulo. In 2019/2020 we went around Europe by a van to do workaway, and after our return we were certain that we want to move to our own farm and develop it in permacultural/sustainable/ecological way. And here we are now! :)

    We have many ideas, many projects: maintaine some existing property on the land and prepare it for B&B, develop vegetable garden, reconstruct other property (learn about cob), learn about food preservation, apicultura and many more. You will see :)
    The land is already fool of different fruit trees which we are learning to treat. Also we want to try to produce electricity from a small river in the bottom of the property. Ok, you got it, there is a lot of things!

    Previously, we were living in Porto where our jobs were a cook (Miguel) and a motion designer (Yulia) but with appearance of Amalia and with our growing interest about sustainable living, we understood that the change is needed.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Just meeting each other is already a cultural exchange. We love to have meals together and talk about many different things. Also, you can enjoy Portuguese village and nature around.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Generally, we always have a few small projects going on at the same time, therefore you can pick up what you are more inspired about.

    Our current tasks are to do some general maintenance of the property, to develop a vegetable garden, to build a geodesic dome greenhouse and to pick seasonal fruits (and preserve them). We also developing a herbal garden for teas, cooking, making home medicine and etc. (like toothpaste).
    No special skills are required.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent
    Russian: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have different spaces around the property. Some of them we are still preparing but we always have a private room for people to stay. For this moment, it is a big space/room in the main house with private bathroom.
    We don't follow any strict diet but any type of meat is rare at our place. Basically, mostly vegetarian. Preparing food is a big part of cultural exchange and also a big part of everyone's daily routine, therefore it would be great if all of us (workawayers included) could cook together or by turns.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)







Host ref number: 318515542711