Gardening and DIY in St Germier, Rural France

Country

France

Favourited 56 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/02/2019

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a retired couple in our 60's who moved to France fourteen years ago. We live in a small hamlet where we are the only English. Our neighbours are extremely friendly and helpful and love the experience of meeting people from all over the world.
    We have nine rescue dogs, 5 Spanish Greyhounds, 3 Podencos and a Heinz 57. They are all very people friendly and adore being fussed over!! We also have one cat, who lives outside.The area we live in is steeped in history, has beautiful countryside, lots of wonderful walks and cycle rides.
    We are 15 minutes from the pretty army garrison town of St Maixent L'Ecole and 30 minutes from Poitiers. La Rochelle and Ile de Re are about 1 and 30 minutes by car but also accessible by train.

    We are both very integrated into the french way of life and both do lots of volunteer work, hence the need for help with gardening etc!!!
    My husband has recently had surgery and recuperation means he’s not able to do any heavy lifting, or digging.
    We welcome all nationalities and all workers are treated as members of our family, so if you want to spend some time with us and become as crazy as us, then please come along and visit!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Charity Work

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for anyone , preferably over 25 years of age, who want to help with all sorts of projects from chicken shed building to felling trees.
    We are trying to stockpile wood for the next few winters and need to collect from our fields. We own 3 hectares of land in addition to the gardens and terraces surrounding the house.

    We accept males ,females, singles,couples....no preference, the only real criteria is you must be willing to "muck" in...cooking, washing floors, walking the dogs and enjoying lively discussions about anything and everything.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We can offer a double room and a twin bedded room in the house or if you prefer we have a tent which can be erected in the garden ...or in the fields away from the house near the pond which houses lots of toads and frogs....night-time croaking and the crickets are all part of the rural life.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have both English and French TV and Radio, Skype ( for those calls to home) and Internet access.

    We can accommodate vegetarians but not vegans.
    Non smokers

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hours a week




Host ref number: 3184943684da