Child care in English while discovering the Catalan culture! Spain

Country

Spain

updated  

Favourited 18 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/02/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Eva, Victu, Ot (6) and Roc (4). We are looking for an English or German speaking girl to share time with our children. We want them to have as much contact to the English language as possible and we would also like they start learning German. Our kids speak English and Catalan. They love running, cycling, listening to stories, going to the swimming pool, playing hide and seek, board games and any games you may come up with.

    Eva (39) works as an English and German teacher and is out mornings and one afternoon. Victu (39) is a sales agent and is home around 6:30pm. You will find a good atmosphere at home and we like to spend time together and with friends. Having someone at home is a great way to meet new cultures without moving from home. At the weekends and on holidays we love to spend time together, playing and going to the mountain and beach (we have a campervan what allows us to be quit spontaneous when deciding where to go).

    We live in Avinyó, a small village of 2000 inhabitants between the mountains (Pyrenees) and the beach and Barcelona (60km away). It is surrounded by forest, so it is a great place to enjoy outdoor activities (running, cycling, swimming, fishing…). Although the town is small it has got a big sport complex eith two summer swimmingpools, two tennis courts, two paddle courts and a sport center. Our house is located in the middle of the village; it has got a garage and a big terrace where kids love to play and where we have most of our breakfasts and dinners in summer.

    Something you must know about us:
    -We speak Catalan and English at home. With our friends and family we speak Catalan. We can speak Spanish but it is not our first language.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We would like to share with you our culture. In our house you can live with us the traditions and customs of our land and our Mediterranean cuisine. We would like to share meals and time with you.
    In exchange we would like that our kids have as much contact as possible to the English language and to know a bit of your culture.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for an English speaking girl who loves children and would like to live together with a Catalan family and help with our kids. We also expect you are very responsible (as you will spend time alone with our kids), active and with initiative. You should also be a good swimmer as we spend a lot of afternoons at the pool (in summer).Please, only contact us if you fulfill these requirements.

    Your help will consist on sharing time with the kids using the English language: playing, reading books, going to the park and the swimming pool, doing crafts and bringing them and picking them up from school some days and having lunch with them some others. You are not expected to help with the household tasks but to be clean and tidy as you go and to cook some days lunch.
    We prefer stays of at least 2 weeks. We need your help from Monday to Thursday (some Fridays). So you will have plenty of time to travel around and enjoy our country. But you can also stay with us or do some travelling together.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Catalan, Spanish, English, German and French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own room with a big bed and wardrobe (comfortable and bright). We have two baths at home, so we can offer you to share one with the kids.
    Our house is set in the center of the village. It is quiet modern and it has got a big terrace where the kids love to play.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Avinyó is sorrouned by forest, so it is a perfect place for outdoor activities. You can borrow our bikes if you like cycling, or our fishing rods to go fishing at the resevoir. Or you can just walk in the woods, hike to the "Soldiers tower" or go to the swimming pool to swim, suntun or relax while reading a book.

    Barcelona is an hour away from Avinyó and at the weekends there is a bus there.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 4-5days a week

At the beach
At the vegetable garden
On holidays

Host ref number: 317969775126