Help us with DIY projects south of Te Awamutu, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 5 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/06/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi Workaway Team.
    Brian and I live south of Te Awamutu on a lifestyle block. We have a few sheep, one goat a few cows and a few horses, one friendly dog and friendly cat. We enjoy horse trekking with our horses. Our children have all left home and we have spare rooms at home. We have enjoyed hosting youth exchange students over many years and enjoy the cultural exchange, the friendships and family connections we have made with the students.
    We live in an area where there are many tourist activities the workaways can explore, we are only 30min from Waitomo, famous caves, 20min from Mount Pirongia or Mt Maungatautari for amazing hiking. The Waikato region has so many tourist places to explore.
    We would enjoy having workaways to stay with us and become part of our family life and help out with jobs on the lifestyle block and around our home and garden.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Workaways will join our family and learn 'down to earth' New Zealand lifestyle. We have a close and connected family who we have regular contact with. It is likely the workaway will have the opportunity to meet our wider family.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We will welcome the workaway to help us with
    1) Help with learning how to use computers better including, social media, set up website
    2) House keeping, especially spring cleaning
    3) General gardening and vegetable gardening
    4) DIY - painting window sills,
    5) Fencing - fixing fences, repairs and maintenance
    6) Handyman - fixing garage doors
    6) Building repairs on sheds, water blasting and painting outdoor buildings

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The Workaways will live with us in our home, we have three spare bedrooms with bathroom and separate living room.
    Mealtimes are pretty relaxed at our home. We get our own breakfast and lunch, I would hope that we will share the evening meal preparation and share our evening meals together. Over the summer we frequently have BBQ's for dinner. We are really keen to learn new food and meals from other countries where the Workaways come from.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The Workaways will need to have their own vehicle for their own independence in travel
    There is heaps of tourist activities and outdoor activities in our local area, hiking, mountain biking, fishing, kayaking
    We are looking for motivated and willing people who are keen to get along with our family and be willing to get involved in what we are doing.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 314954663779