Stay and help at our small fairytale castle in Loire Valley, France

Country

France

Favourited 693 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    13  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/10/2019

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello! Bonjour! Bienvenue! Friendly & Mature Couple Wanted for small Fairytale Castle in France
    We are an Anglo-American couple with one teenage daughter (currently away at school), and 1 very loving & adorable Samoyed dog. (Our teenage daughter is also very loving and adorable, but our dog is truly the cutest pooch ever.) We are relaxed, flexible, trustworthy and friendly, and look for helpers who share these same qualities. We love to play music (guitar, piano & harp), cook & experiment with the amazing local foods on offer at our many markets, and travel (which we do frequently & often for long periods at a time, hence the need for reliable helpers).

    Available Dates: Flexible
    COUPLES only (sadly no children or pets), please!
    Ideally should have own car, though --if not-- must have valid driver's license.

    Our chateau is a 120-year-old neo-Renaissance fairytale-style castle (with a turret!) on 2 hectares of land in a region famed for its history and beauty. It has been extensively renovated, so all of the rooms (5 main rooms + 7 bedrooms) are in an excellent state of repair. However, the chateau regularly needs cleaning, gardening and general maintenance, plus we have some fun redecorating jobs that we are undertaking. The property is also equipped with a fabulous indoor pool, gym and spa, which we are happy to share with our helpers.

    The chateau is our family home, occasionally hosting parties and events. We are in an idyllic location in the Western Loire Valley of France in the middle of a beautiful little village with shops, a bar, a bakery, post office, church, music school, etc. Just behind the chateau are magnificent walks through the many local vineyards. It's just a tiny stroll through the gates to buy wine from one of the neighbours! A 10 minute picturesque walk away is an incredible leisure center on a huge lake with sailing, canoeing, tennis, archery, mini-golf, camping and two lakeside cafes. The nearest 2 mid-sized towns with all amenties are each under 10 minutes away, and one features a main-line railway station. The two nearest large cities, Tours & Le Mans, are 30 minutes away. We are only 1.5 hours south of Paris by train, or a 2 hour drive. We are also very close to most of the renowned castles of the Loire Valley, and many other exciting tourist attractions.

    The region is very hospitable, and we try to be as well! If you have pleasant and relaxed personalities, don't mind cleaning to a high standard, enjoy the outdoors and gardening, and have fluent English-language ability, you may be the couple for us.

    If you are looking for a beautiful French adventure and think that you might fit our requirements, please contact us! We'd love to hear from you.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    France is a magnificent country and we are very proud of the region in which we live. Art, culture, music, food and magnificent scenery combine to create a truly magical environment. Learning French and immersing oneself in local culture is an exciting challenge. Contributing to the upkeep of a beautiful and historic property is extremely rewarding, and then being able to live in this very property is a delight! We are constantly in awe of how lucky we are to live here. On a personal note, we have made some exceptional friendships through our Workaway experiences. It is not unusual for us to have former helpers come to visit and meet our current helpers!

  • Help

    Help

    *️️️️️*️️️️️OUR IDEAL COUPLE*️️️️️*️️️️️:
    -Trustworthy, very discreet and reliable
    -Have own car (though not a deal-breaker if you are over 25 & have clean driver's license)
    -English-speaking;
    -Are physically fit and strong;
    -Have a relaxed ‘can-do’ attitude and initiative;
    -Enjoy smiling, being flexible and creative problem-solving
    -Have excellent spoken English;
    -Love animals;
    -Enjoy the challenges of housekeeping and gardening to a high standard;
    -Have a keen interest in France;
    -Love to travel;
    -Love the outdoors but do not mind helping indoors;
    -Have had some experience in DIY renovating
    -Are Mature in Age and/or Attitude;
    -Get along well with each other and enjoy working together;
    and, are very discreet, pleasant, and undaunted by the exciting challenges that a new country can offer.

    Each should have a clean driver's licence and no criminal history (will be checked).

    It is not necessary that you speak French, but an assertive attitude toward getting out and getting things done, plus an interest in picking up a few key phrases is very helpful.

    The duties are 4 hours per day, 5 days per week, Monday-Friday, plus feeding the dog on your days off if we are away. Generally the hours are 9:30 am to 1:30 pm., leaving the afternoons and weekends free for enjoying France & the property. The duties are generally divided by day: one day gardening, mowing the lawn, the next day special projects, the next general housecleaning, etc.

    This is not a paid position but a very rewarding volunteering-holiday arrangement with a food supplement.

    It is important that both have travel insurance in case of illness or accident. If one has any particular skills or talents, either artistic or practical, we definitely encourage this creativity.

    Interested candidates please send CV, PHOTOS and REFERENCES in your profile.

    We look forward to hearing from you!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English (our 1st language) & French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Within the chateau is a lovely private bedroom and bathroom. Generally this will be one floor above our bedroom to provide extra privacy. Excellent quality mattress and linens. Separate sitting room with television, wifi, netflix, etc. On the grounds are woods with paths for nature walks, and a superb walled garden featuring every imaginable fruit and vegetable (in season). Unlimited use of the large indoor pool, sauna, steam room, and gym.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    20 hours per week

The front of the chateau
Wonderful indoor swimming pool for everyone to enjoy throughout the year.
Our little family...
Our sweet dog, Pavlova. She loves everyone!
Canoeing on the massive lake next door.
Rose garden at the chateau
Private spa with jacuzzi/hot-tub, sauna, steam room and shower in the chateau
Private gym in the chateau
Fun times cooking with friends...
Simon with tomatoes from the garden
Aerial view of local market
Wonderful walks through the vineyards behind our house.
Vivienne and Simon
Sailing on local lake







Host ref number: 314682254c9a