Help with gardening and some renovation projects on our 18th century home in Loire Valley, France

Country

France

Favourited 7 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    03/06/2019

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    After years of deliberation, we finally took the decision to move to France and have bought an old property to renovate. The main house has parts going back to the 1700's, and there is also a barn and small cottage in the grounds. Our dream is to renovate and repair the properties to modern standards over the next couple of years. Set in the heart of the Loire Valley, we are right beside the River Cher and close to the Chateaux of Chenonceau, Blois, Amboise and Chambord. The beautiful small town of Montrichard is close by with all the shops you could want - and the amazing ZooParc Beauval ( one of the best zoos in the world ) id only 20 minutes away.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are situarted in the heart of Chateau country, with over 10 within a 30 mile radius. The while of the Loire valley is a UNESCO world heritage site, so you will be spoiled for choice with beautiful rivers, pretty towns and history everywhere. During summer months the river can be used for canoeing and swimming as well.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking help in two main areas, there is plenty to do in the gardens with lots of trees and two acres of grass and shrubs - so anyone with gardening experience would be very welcome! In the buildings, we have ongoing work with renovations so we are looking help with installing kitchen and bathroom, removing old plaster and replasering or sealing brickwork, and some elecrtrical work is needed as well.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You would be staying in the garden cottage, which is still under refurbishment but has a simple bathroom and kitchen for your private use. We would provide food and you would be welcome to eat with us during your stay.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 314565997918