Renovating a house and garden - London, UK

Country

United Kingdom

updated  

Favourited 358 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1083

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am 41 and teach English to foreign students in London. I love to travel and with my job teaching English to international students, it feels a bit like I am still travelling even though I am at home.

    I like travelling, history, canoeing, pubs, Egyptology, politics, am a lapsed runner, go to a Finnish sauna, love archaeology, drawing and growing vegetables on my allotment.

    I live with my brother in our end of terrace Victorian house in Surrey Quays, London.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am a qualified EFL teacher so can also help you with your English but would only wish to have workawayers staying who have a fluent intermediate (B1) level of English and above. I have had a lower level of English speaker before and it has created some issues with understanding required tasks, which is why I would now prefer a higher level of English.

    My local pub is very friendly and you will easily meet people there and get to know the local people in London and I am happy for you to come socialise with my friends outside the house too. I run a museum social group, also regularly go to the Finnish sauna in Rotherhithe and am often in the pub so you are welcome to join me in any of these things.

    If you like to go running that would be great too as I need someone to motivate me to start running again! The Thames River is a ten minute walk from my house and is great to go for a run along.

  • Help

    Help

    Hi I am looking for ONE person who would be happy to help renovate my house.

    I am looking for someone to do general house and decorating tasks who has experience in doing these things before.

    I would like someone who has good B1 level English (intermediate) or above. Someone who is already in London and who I could meet up with before agreeing is ideal.

    This would be for 12 to 15 hours a week in exchange for accommodation and food. The work that needs doing could mean it may last about three to four weeks. However as workaway recommends, I would like to have a one week trial period.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own room downstairs which is private and will be yours but it has a sofa bed.

    You will need to cook for yourself as I am often out (and to be honest my cooking is not fantastic anyway!). I will however buy food and keep the cupboards full for you to use.

    There is a lot of work to be done so the house is like a building site at the moment, but I have unlimited wi-fi access, there is a bus stop right outside the house and the nearest tube station Surrey Quays is about a seven minute walk away.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    My house is in zone 2 of London in Surrey Quays. My nearest station is Surrey Quays on the underground and London Bridge is about a 10 minute overground and underground journey from that station and it is about 15 minutes to Waterloo so quite central.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    12-15 hours a week


Host ref number: 3134971214c3