Help with outdoor projects and experience a family farmstay in the center of Jutland (Lake Highland), Bryrup, Denmark

Country

Denmark

Favourited 45 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/09/2020

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Welcome to Thorslykke a small eco farm in the middle of Jutland. We live two families at the farm: One family (the owner of the property) in the main house, and one family in a new build Tiny House. Our five kids are in the age 6 to 12 years old. We all value organic, sustainable solutions very high and love to do the garden, making eco projects, cooking and enjoying outdoor living.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Animal Care

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can be part of a family trying to be more self-sufficient, and learn a lot about permaculture gardening and building a eco friendly life. We rent out shelter and tent spaces during the summer, therefor you can look forward to meeting other visitors and gusts during your stay.

  • Help

    Help

    We have a lot of outdoor project, where we would enjoy extra help. We have established a big permaculture garden, it needs frequently to be looked after. But we would also need help for the other outdoor areas: garden, planting trees, maintaining green areas, fences, painting, small building projects, collecting herbs, etc. Some of your task could also be to take care of our animals (sheeps, chickens, pigs, cows) and contribute to the everyday life like cleaning and cooking.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have you private space in a caravan with acces to an outhouse compost seperation toilet. Currently the shower is in the main house.
    You will make your own breakfast, and most of the days lunch as well. We eat dinner together most days prepared by us or you (cooking skills not necessary, if you dont like to cook - we will just do it. But it is important, that you can make your own food if we are not at home)
    We will provide you with the food you need during your stay. Most foods are from our own farm: both meats and vegetables. If you don't eat meet, it is no problem. We love vegetables.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We can welcome two people at the time, and prioritise people traveling together as you will share the caravan.
    We hope to get visitors that are truly interested and committed to working with eco projects. Maybe you have farming knowledge or building skills your self, and we can exchange ideas and knowledge. We are very much open to your good ideas. As you can see practical skills are important at our farm, so please describe yours to us.

    We hope you like to be social with us, but also loves your private time.
    We have the most beautiful forests around us, with lovely lakes for swimming. There are a 15 minutes walk to the bus, that goes to the nearby big city Silkeborg with lots of shopping possibilities. Some days it can be arranged you can borrow a car.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 313252177217