Help needed in Vancouver, Kitsilano home

Country

Canada

Favourited 143 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    08/01/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    265

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I live in Kitsilano, Vancouver, BC. My home is very close to transit, shops, the beach, UBC, and not too far from downtown (25 min bus) or the airport (45 min bus/skytrain).

    I have been doing a lot of home improvement and landscaping upgrades, and would love to have someone here who could help with projects. There is ongoing household stuff like cleaning, laundry, organizing (big like the whole garage, small like the tool shelf... big like the attic space, small like the stationary supplies), loading/unloading the car, etc. A general willingness to jump in and do things but also take direction well are ideal!

    I am very busy with work, so helpers who are skilled and motivated to knock projects off the list with initial direction but little continued supervision are a must. I could also use some administrative help with organizing files on- and off-line, updating my personal website, helping me get my social media stuff figured out, etc... I'm always eager to learn what kinds of skills people bring with them, and figure out how to work that into my needs. I'm happiest when my helpers enjoy what they're doing, so I find it best to keep the project options flexible. That said, the cleaning tasks are still the most important, with anything extra being open to your input and creativity and fun. :)

    Looking forward to hearing from you! :)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I've had many foreign travellers as housemates and guests, and I love being a host and getting to know my workawayers. Many have become long term friends, or repeat helpers, or (obviously) both! :)

    That said, I often do not have a lot of time for socializing, so it is important to me that you are fairly independent. I like getting to know helpers, but we all need a bit of downtime too. :)

  • Help

    Help

    The day starts at 9 am unless otherwise discussed. Coffee is available around the clock. :)

    I'm hoping to find someone with skills/experience/knowledge as I will not be available to spend a lot of time training. What skills/experience/knowledge would you like to contribute to my home?

    Cleaning is the number one ongoing task. Other projects could include, but are not limited to: tidying indoors/outdoors, landscaping, masonry, building repairs, painting, organizing, moving things, admin help, laundry... making sure there's always cream in the fridge. ;) Any masonry helpers out there? I have landscaping ideas to discuss!

    The projects are ongoing and varied and I will always try to find something suitable for whatever your skillset may be.

    Availability between 9/10 to 2 is very important for my schedule, which I can typically prepare about a week in advance. Being available last minute is great too!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A private bedroom in a partially renovated part of the house.

    You will have your own kitchenette, plus a little living area, shared bathroom, laundry, etc.

    I live in a very safe neighbourhood, very close to transit and the beach. I'm happy to help you get oriented in the city.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    THIS IS IMPORTANT. This is a Quiet house, whether I am home or not, as I have Airbnb suites and not the greatest sound insulation. I have received 2 negative reviews from guests as a result of workawayers not respecting this rule when I am not home. It is SO important to be clear about how serious this is. If you are a loud talker or heavy footed walker, it will not work out. Please consider whether speaking generally quietly and being light on your feet is going to be too much of a challenge for you before contacting me. I really don't enjoy having to remind people about this. Just need to keep it chill.

    The workaway is suitable for a single person or a quiet couple.

    I have a strong preference towards hosting workers over who are over 25-to-30-ish and have already have lots of real-world life and work experience under their belts. This is just a general preference after having a few non-optimal experiences with folks under 30, so if you think you are the perfect fit and you're under 30, let me know why and we'll talk about it!

    No smokers or drug users please. Please don't be dishonest about this.

    Strong preference for people who don't drink daily or excessively. I don't drink and would appreciate you respecting a not-getting-drunk-at-home rule.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week





Host ref number: 311852459326