Welcome to Pesei, our beautiful farm in the Italian Alps

Country

Italy

Favourited 215 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/10/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1749

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    51.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 10 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello workawayers,
    do you want to experience the peace of Italian Alps and the genuine life in a small mountain farm?

    Our farm is located in Valtrompia, a green valley between Iseo Lake and Garda Lake.
    We are up in the mountains, surrounded by the woods, one hour away from Brescia, a beautiful city you can reach by train from all over Italy.
    All of Sabatti family work here: Grazia is the queen of the agriturism kitchen, Luca and Abramo are the owners and Enrico, Luca’s brother, helps run the farm when he’s not travelling around the world. Chiara and Laura joined the team some yeas ago and take care of garden and didactic projects. Last year we had such a great experience with volounteers from all over the world and we can't wait to host you!

    We have 12 hectars of land divided between fields and woods. Our main activity is the production and transformation of small fruits: the orchards of blackberries, raspberries, white, black and red currants are the heart of Pesei since 1997. In summer we collects fruits and trasform them in jams in our laboratory.
    A couple of years ago, thanks to Chiara and Laura, our herbs experts, we also started foraging wild plants and creating a Herbs Garden: we grow wild, aromatic and medicinal plants to trasform in herbal teas and delicious recipes we serve every weekend in our Agriturism. If you are curious about foraging and traditional herbs uses, we will be happy to share our knowledge!

    On weekends we open our Agriturism: people come to Pesei to eat traditional recipes and taste the products of our territory. They can wander around our fields and join our activities for kids and adults about herbs and fruits collecting, animals and farm life!
    They can also spend a weekend away from the stress of city life staying at our Roccolino house, a typical structure of the first '900, where they can stay the night in the woods.

    If you’ll join our team for a while you will share a little apartament with Chiara, our collaborator (who started as a volounteer like you!), and maybe other workawayers (max 3-4 at a time). Unfortunately we can’t host people with dogs and families with children.
    We’d love to share our lifestyle and welcome you as a part of our extended family. For this reason we ask for a minimum of one week stay (and no longer than one month).

    We are onmnivorous, but we could easily adapt to all the plant based humans we hosted, just tell us in advance!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Chiara and Luca speak english but Abramo would love to teach you italian and something of our local dialect. You will taste italian regional recipes and explore our life style: if you want to try out how a true mountain farmer lives, you've find the right place!
    We will welcome you as a part of the family and we would love to learn about you, sharing your culture and your language.

  • Help

    Help

    We mainly need help for duties as mantaining the place, cut grass and wood, take care of the orchards, pick up fruits and wild herbs, help moving our donkeys to fresh fields, taking care of the hens and collecting eggs (hopefully this year foxes will not eat them all!), keep clean the structure and if you want, help with our events and on the weekends.
    "There is always something to do" says Abramo.
    Expect to get your hands dirty, to learn about our dialect, share our everyday life in the italian Alps and be ready to learn something new everyday!
    If you'd like to explore around, we will be happy to suggest you hike trails and places to see.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a appartment in the principal building that you will share with Chiara, one of our collaborators. There's a bedroom, that you will eventually share with other travellers, a kitchen with all facilieties, two bathrooms and a dining room where we use to have lunch all together.
    Sabatti family doesn’t live at the farm (but in the nearest village 20 minutes by car away).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Things you need to know:
    -You can't walk yourself to the nearest town unless you are a super hiker: it's a 1- 1 and half hour walk. We will provide you what you need as soon as possible (we do the groceries once a week).
    - Don't worry: Luca will meet you at the bus station in Inzino (about 40 minutes of bus from Brescia's train station), a town in the Valley and we can drop you there if you want to have a day trip around, if you tell us in advance!
    -We are at 1000mt, in the mountains. It means that even in summer you would like to have a sweater and a k-way with you (ask us for equipment advices!)
    -Wifi access is pretty limitated. You can use that just for texting or when really needed.
    -We speak italian, english and a (very little) bit of dutch but we are willing to learn and communicate even if you don't speak this languages well!
    - We have a dog, Mirka which is part of everyday life. She's very friendly, we bet you'll be best friends. We also have cats but they don't live in the building.
    -There's always a lot to work and time tables may not always be the same, farm life requires you to be flexible. We expect 5 hours of work a day/ 5-6 days a week. Everything more is welcomed but you are totally free to take your time and have a walk around!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

This is the main bulding: here is were you will live during you stay
Do you like blackberries? We love them!
This is Pesei: the principal building, our orchards and the Herbs Garden
Luca and our Danish woofers harvesting potatoes last summer!
Laura, Chiara, Mirka and Abramo during an activity at the Agriturism
Mirka, our little helper!
Mirka will be happy to follow you on one of the many hiking trails in the mountains around Pesei
Some of our guests during a lesson about foraging wild herbs
Luca and one of our woofers cutting the grass: here is a traditional practice called "La fienagione"
One of our magical events during a summer night
Strange creatures you can find around the farm
Edible flowers from our Herbs Garden: aren't they beautiful?
Woofers on the road!
Are you ready to make your hands veeery dirty???
This is a view of the farm: pretty good, isn't it?

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.5)

Communication: (5.0)






Host ref number: 311756677153