Help at our yoga lifestyle space in Playa Potrero, Costa Rica

Country

Costa Rica

updated  

Favourited 1443 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    36  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/08/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1970

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    83.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hey there! Thanks for stopping by. My name is Harriet and my husband Adam and I own and operate a yoga lifestyle space here in Playa Potrero, Guanacaste, Costa Rica and we could always use some help in a variety of ways.

    As of August 8th, 2019 we moved into a GORGEOUS new home & healing space that we designed and built, so there is a LOT of different types of help that we're seeking for the space.

    We've had several great Work Away guests come through since we began in April 2017 and we'd love to continue that positive experience. Our ideal Workaway'er is kind, thoughtful, respectful, in tune with themselves & others, loves both dogs & cats, is intentional, follows through on his/her commitments, can take constructive feedback as a positive, listens well, is a morning person, mindfully communicates his/her needs, and does his/her best and is self-motivated. This means after receiving directions, he/she can manage their time effectively in order to accomplish all that needs to be done, and if there’s not much to be done, create ways to add to the space.

    We love it when it's a clear and easy fit with our Work Aways, and that's happened about 90% of the time. But for that 10% when it's not a good fit, we tell everyone that we have a 2 week trial period where we both feel each other out, and ensure it's a win win for all parties involved. We have had some work away volunteers here for upwards to 4 months and it was awesome. But we’ve also had some leave at the two week mark or sooner, which is totally fine and all part of the learning process. Sometimes it’s just not a good fit; sorta like a blind date where you don’t feel much chemistry if that makes sense.

    We called our previous space the Sanctuary, but we're now living in the Lanktuary. So all Work Aways before August 8th, 2019 were in the Sanctuary. Our new space the Lanktuary is different in that we're on the top of a mountain with an ocean view and a dirt road access. The town of Potrero is located about an hour outside of Liberia, Costa Rica, and that's the closest airport as well. The town of Potrero is quiet, small and has a local vibe. And did I say quiet? I mean quiet. We're about a 6 minute bike ride from the beach and a 20 min run, or 30 min slow walk.

    Before we go any further, here's a little bit about us to help you get to know us a bit. Harriet is 42 years young, a yoga instructor, massage therapist and avid visionary entrepreneur. She founded a day spa/wellness center in Park City, Utah, where she's from back in 2003, and it's still a thriving business today. Adam is a 33 year young wizard, scientist, shaman and master of the Now from North Carolina. He moved to Costa Rica to teach physics and math in 2007 after attending Duke College in North Carolina. Together we created a baby girl named Aurora May and she was born on March 8th, 2018 in Costa Rica. She's our focus and a part of the reason we love having help here. We enjoy keeping our energy focused on her, and we also love keeping the flow, vibe and clean factor high around the space, so that’s where you as a Work Away come in.

    On site at the Lanktuary there are 3 private studio apartments on the first floor of the Lanktuary, we live in a 3 bedroom house on the second floor, and we have a third floor play room, that is a backup apartment. There's also a yoga studio with a private treatment room, a pool rancho that is the strongest wifi connection. But each apartment has its own plug in for a computer, We like to keep wireless at a minimum, just for health and wellness.

    We have 6 dogs, 4 cats, and a yoga community that's small but intimate, so a typical day is helping tend to the animals, the yard, the yoga space, cooking or who knows what. Everyday is an adventure up here, so we like personalities that are fluid, relaxed and enjoy being of service, whether that be picking up dog dog poop, playing with our daughter for 30 min or cooking.

    Over the years help with stuff has included but is not limited to: doing laundry, helping with the animals, helping us with our daughter for small chunks of time, helping prepare and cook some meals, tidying up during the day, helping care for the yoga space, helping prepare space for yoga class, upkeep of the yoga space and help walking, feeding and hanging out with our animals, especially if we leave town for a few days. There are some days when there's little help needed and some days feel a little busy if there's a project or an event, so balance always works itself out.

    We have a high standard of cleanliness, so we have a housekeeper who comes 4 days a week to help, so we ask Work Aways to keep their own spaces tidy, common space looking and feeling good, and helping us with a morning and evening tidy, because life is quite busy right now. Finding Work Away has been a blessing, and gives some lucky Work Awayers a great space to call home for a bit.

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️
    We particularly love work aways who teach yoga because having a baby means Harriet just teaches 2 classes a week. Teaching yoga helps you integrate into the community here and there is room to make a little cash from teaching, so that's a fun bonus.
    *️️*️️*️️

    In exchange for your time helping us, you'll get a private small studio apartment and the spaces have a lot you need to cook, a furnished bedroom, a stocked bathroom and a loungey open-air porch with free wifi to pass your time in. You'll also have access to the pool, laundry and free yoga. When you check-in, the apartment is ready to use with toilet paper, soaps, paper towels, clean sheets & towels, and you're welcome to draw from our inventory of cleaning supplies, toilet paper and paper towels during your stay.

    NOTE: This is a quiet, self reflective opportunity, best for someone who knows how to be alone, can make the most of their moment, loves to serve, doesn't mind hitchhiking, is a problem solver and can entertain themselves.

    A summary of our DREAM LIST of qualities:
    Loves dogs and cats
    Enjoys people
    Handyman/woman
    *️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️Teaches yoga
    Enjoys cooking and sharing the art
    Likes to clean, or doesn't mind it
    Is great with babies and is cool with hanging with Aurora here n there
    Is organized
    Is a PROBLEM SOLVER
    Is good moving around computers & technology (Harriet would love help with a website/blog project)
    Knows graphic design
    Is social but not a partier
    Is a little tech savvy with cameras and gadgets

    Our typical Work Away stays are 6 weeks- 2 months, and we have a TON of inquiries so if I don't respond immediately, just be patient or send me a reminder. But please know that we typically do NOT plan more than 3 months out, as we like existing Work Aways to be able to stay longer if they so desire.

    Thanks for taking the time to read this far, and we look forward to connecting.

    Love,
    Harriet

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You'd be living in a high vibrational healing space
    Hang out with us, and I think we're pretty wise and fun
    Our animals are awesome
    Our yoga community is fun & funny
    Access to the BEST quiet beaches in Costa Rica (Playa Penca & Playa Prieta)
    Gorgeous sunsets

  • Help

    Help

    1. House help (laundry & tidying up)

    2. Keeping your own space tidy and caring for and cleaning the common spaces.

    3. Help walking and feeding the dogs & cats

    4. Cleaning and preparing the yoga space before and after every class

    5. Help with projects that come up

    6. 2-3 times per week, help us prepare a meal for just Adam and I, that you're welcome to share at no nost.

    7. Hopefully teaching yoga if you're a yoga teacher.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English & some Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You'll get a private bedroom in a shared apartment with 1 other Work Away or Work Away couple. The space has a bathroom, kitchen and outdoor deck. After June or so, we'll be in our new space and will have private spaces available again.

    Internet access available in the rancho, but it's weaker in the apartment

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Nice hiking in the area
    Fun restaurants within 10 min drive or hitch hike
    Cute coffee shop 5 min walk away
    Quiet beaches nearby to calm the spirit
    Biking
    Surfing a 10 minute drive away
    Complimentary Yoga
    Tamarindo is 30 min and it's a popular tourist town

    Lucky you ;-)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    18 hours per week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.3)

Communication: (5.0)






















Host ref number: 311738675223