1 / 5

Learn to build a home and help with DYI building projects in Verbano-Cusio-Ossola, Italy

  • Favourited 8 times
  • Last activity: 20 Jun 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We are two Dutch brothers (24 and 26) with Italian roots that bought a medieval ruin in the Italian mountains. We aim to restore it using traditional techniques. People started moving into this ruined village a little over 10 years ago. These people share the philosophy that this place is beautiful heritage of the region. We are starting in the summer of 2024 and have a long project ahead of us and like to make friends along the way.

    Staying here a couple of nights can be integrated in any Europe trip by rail or road. The mountain views are stunning, the village is beautiful, the water is the freshest, the forests are alive, we can teach you how to build dry stone walls, we can shoot the crossbow or airgun in the abandoned quarry, rock climbing walls are around and we are happy to join you. So, come on over for the mountain life!

    The project site is easy to get to from train station Domodossola. We have accommodation in a 5x7 meters glamping tent with electricity and is next to a creek. It is also possible to pitch your own tent or if you don't like what you see, you could always rent a room at neighbors for a good price.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are Dutch brothers with an Italian grandmother in a historic Alpine Village close to the Swiss-Italian border. We always like to learn about other cultures and everybody is welcome. Having a drink and a campfire is a good way to connect after a long day on the mountain. How much cultural exchange can you manage?

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We hope to get some help hauling rocks and stack dry stone walls, build a fire place, get fire wood, make camp fires, prepare meals, drink a cold one, rock climbing, the world is your oyster! Every able-bodied person (sorry not wheelchair friendly) that wants to live the medieval Alpine village life (a bit more physical than the regular city-life) can do it.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    German: Beginner
    French: Beginner
    Italian: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    I am keen to learn more about German and Italian. Basic words in any language are fun to know! I speak English and Dutch fluently.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We share a 5x7 meter tent with wood stove, electricity, a wooden floor. There is a communal shower around the corner.

    Breakfast and pasta lunch are included. For dinner and drinks: I would love to cook together and have a beer at the campfire.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Kayak, cycling, rock climbing, crossbow shooting, hiking, enjoying Italian cuisine, etc.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day x three to five days a week

Host ref number: 299237879952

Photos

Feedback