Help a homeschooled family with their small hobby farm in Kamloops, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 20 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/10/2020

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Cobid -19
    We are open to have people with social distancing in mind.
    We are a homeschool family with 3 boys ages 8-13. We have a small hobby farm on 42 acres in Kamloops. Animals include horses, sheep, goats, chickens, turkeys, dogs, cats, and ferrets. Our hope is to one day start a not for profit youth ranch that helps families like ours who have been through traumatic situations. Wither it is a medical trauma (like ours) abuse, environmental (like refugees) or any other form of trauma, we want to build a place for others to come and find hope, to dream and most important to be free to be children again! We have a very nice house and a fun opportunity for our workaway to experience Canada's original culture, Sleeping arrangement it a real teepee surrounded by a beautiful glade on the very edge of land owned by the local native band.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Charity Work

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Life skills, animal husbandry, English, about our native culture, I can also teach them how to knit, and crochet. Help create a place that many children and families will benefit from.

  • Help

    Help

    Projects can include building fences, fixing (planting) garden, digging and building an under ground cold storage for food, fixing the driveway, baby sitting if you want, snuggling animals, building a bmx bike track, setting up an archery range, clearing bush, cutting down trees/ cutting fire wood, and help getting the house organized to name a few.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a beautiful real North American teepee, with reed carpets. (the bed can be a cot or a hammock) located in a quiet glade close to the house. There is a nice clean outhouse for night time needs. Or inside the house we have a double bed in our exercise room, this is less private and may be needed once in a while for family who comes up.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    For time off there are miles and miles of trails to hike, close by is the river for swimming, or other water sports. We go into town (40 minutes away) at least 2 times a week and can give our workaway a ride in. Quiet roads means lots of bike riding is avalible as well. We live fairly down to earth, and have tons of board games, and outdoor activates to use.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 298229177874