Help sought in Barcelona: Make my nephew a world child

Country

Netherlands

Favourited 194 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    40
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/05/2017

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a high energy person with high community values living in Amsterdam. My sister lives in Barcelona. She and her husband work crazy hours and they sometimes can't be home to be with their child. Guillem, or William (I call him "the little pooper") is a high stamina, super good character, easy kid (he sleeps 12 hours in a row). We have talked about the importance of exposing him to different cultures and at this point, get him used to yet another language, as he has started to learn English for toddlers.
    If you are an English speaker and are looking for a room in Barcelona (Maragall/font d'en Fargas) my sis, Irene, can lend you a room in exchange of agreed times to take care of Guillem, a 2 and a half bundle of love and giggles. He'll be potty trained soon, but you might still have to change nappies if he takes a sweet cutie crap.
    The guy or girl must be an English speaker, non-smoker and preferably over 25. Auntie is vegan and has a soft spot for ethical eaters, but sister, where you'll stay, is omnivore. I do prefer an ethical, green-oriented person to teach the little pooper the love for mother Earth and transcend in empathy, but it is not my call or my child. He eats animals, and it is not my job to lecture him...
    We don't mind what you do with your free time, but take the party outside the house. If you like peace and quiet, we'll love you dearly. And you'll get peace and quiet despite the toddler. He is not encouraged to being an annoying brat. He goes 8 hours a day x week to day care to be as loud as he likes with poopers like him.
    We are not obsessed with English native speakers, but both sisters are language teachers, polyglots and linguists and we appreciate an accurate grammar (first priority) and pronunciation.
    Household is easy going. You get accommodation and food and might be needed some evenings and on agreed times, without exceeding 15 hours a week. House has two cats, in case of allergy. The cats can take care of themselves, but if you are a cat lover they will fall for you and become your shadow, since they don't get much attention these days since the pooper was born.
    We are looking at mid-term, absolute minimum 1 month, but give priority for 3 months requests.
    Please send an e-mail with info about yourself, looking forward to meeting you!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can learn Spanish or Catalan, get an insight of local Barcelona life, meet my awesome family.

  • Help

    Help

    Babysitting at agreed times. Mostly weekends, maybe one day and one night a week. Parents aren't out much, but can't always be there due to working schedules.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Dutch, Spanish, Catalan, German, English, French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Your own room in the apartment.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Flat is big and very well communicated by 2 metro lines and close to Horta, a quiet neighbourhood.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    A few hours on the weekend, previously agreed

Host ref number: 296917629737