Help landscaping my garden and with other tasks in Surrey, England

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 231 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    13  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I enjoyed my experience as a Workaway Volunteer in the French Pyrenees. The village of Grayswood is in an area designated as 'Outstanding Natural Beauty'. Essentially hills (the area is known as Swiss Surrey) and woods (Surrey is the most wooded county in England). It is also designated an area of 'Special Geological Significance' and is 10 miles from the beginning of the North Downs (250km trail to Dover) and South Downs (150km trail to Eastbourne). The North and South Downs are a range of hills crossing England East / West. It is 40km to the picturesque Chichester Harbour and 70km to the New Forest, William the Conqueror's hunting forest from 1066. Grayswood is a friendly Surrey village 2km from Haslemere, which is 48 minutes by train to London. Local buses stop 5 minutes away, bicycles for loan. I am a retired teacher and enjoy communicating a lifetime of practical and technical skills in fitting out a 6m x 5m wood cabin, which volunteers can use and landscaping the garden. The cabin overlooks fields and woods. The views (5 minutes walk) are spectacular. I cycle (on road and off road), run, dance (jive and salsa), do life drawing, windsurf and occasionally play golf (clubs for loan). There are 25 golf courses within 20km. I like to think I am well travelled and have a library of travel information. I have recorded 250 arts, science and health tv programs. My son 23 and my daughter 19 often visit. I sometimes visit a nearby Buddhist monastery, in the Thai forest tradition. My philosophy is the 'Quality' approach to tasks along the lines of the book 'Zen and the Art of Motor Cycle Maintenance'. Interested in diet, food and health, most of the food is organic and is grown by me or delivered by an organic supplier. There is the opportunity to help with beekeeping.
    I enjoy helping with English, but either practical experience or a reasonable standard of English would be appreciated.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Surrey Hills is an area that is quintessentially English. Surrey is England's most wooded county and features an impressive number of footpaths. Guildford, Chichester and Winchester have well known Cathedrals and Roman remains. There are 2 'camping barns' (bunkhouses) within a days walk, one on the South Downs Way and one on the North Downs Way. There is perhaps the worlds largest sculpture park nearby

  • Help

    Help

    Landscaping the 60 metre garden (planting trees, shrubs, fencing, constructing water features etc)
    Fitting out a 6m x 5m wood cabin
    General carpentry, diy
    Fitting out the loft
    Motor cycle mechanics

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Some French, a little Japanese

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is a double bedroom, a single bedroom and a 6m x 5m log cabin

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Ideally volunteers choose when they work their 24 hours, choosing jobs from a list. My preference is to rise early and work before it is too hot, but each to their own....
    Day trips include the cathedral cities of Chichester, Winchester and Guildford and of course London
    The walking and cycling are highly recommended

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    24 per week








Host ref number: 295924996748