Helping with animals at big sheepfarm in Bardastrond, Iceland

Country

Iceland

Favourited 535 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/01/2021

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a big family of seven living in Patreksfjordur and the husband works at a farm in Bardastrond which is about 20 min drive from our place. At the farm lives his mother and brother along with 3 dogs and about 900 sheep.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travelers coming to our place would benefit from a remote and peaceful surroundings and nature with amazing view of the glacier Snaefellsjokull and nearby attractions.

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

    Host has indicated that they will pay at least the minimum hourly wage of their country for each hour worked and that accommodation will also be provided. They are asking for help with a business or business activity. Contact the host directly via the site messenger for more information and details about the wage provided. Any arrangements should be agreed in advance with your host.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for two people to help with lambing in April - beginning of June. The responsibilities are to help the sheeps deliver the lambs and take care of the sheeps, feeding. It is a big sheep farm with 800 sheeps and requires 24/7 care.

    We are also looking into the possibility of having someone as soon as possible to help an elderly lady with the housework at the farm. Requires cleaning and helping around the house and possibly sometimes helping with feeding the sheeps if requires.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Icelandic: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Travelers will be staying at the main house at the farm with those who live there. Having access to wi-fi, shared bathroom and food is included.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Travelers will be able to nearby sights on days off, we can offer to lend a car (need to have a drivers licence, of course) if wanting to go see some sights.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




Host ref number: 295651369416