Cultural exchange on our family farm beside Lake Arenal, Cosa Rica

Country

Costa Rica

new host  

Favourited 60 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/01/2021

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    UPDATE: January 2nd, 2021 - Tim (the husband) has been recovering from surgery for the last month so we apologize for our lack of response to so many potential workawayers. Tim's recovery is coming along so we are hoping to finally get back to some of you soon.

    ORIGINAL:
    American and Costa Rican husband and wife (a young 41 and 39) with 3 acre estate, finca (farm), large home and guest house set in the most beautiful nature in front of Lake Arenal. We want to start an organic farm, and my wife would love to receive English lessons. (I am fully bilingual English/Spanish but I am a terrible teacher and we only speak Spanish at home as a result). Also, I run a public relations and marketing company from my large home office, so there could be work for those with writing, graphic design, web design or video editing skills, amongst others.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will have a chance to experience living directly in some of the worlds most rich and unique biodiversity; you will woken by tucans and and howler monkeys every day; we will help you with your Spanish through immersion; you will learn traditional and natural Central American small farming techniques ; you will learn about the flaura and fauna; you may have the opportunity to work with me in my public relations agency and learn what it really takes to move your business fully virtual and become an expat from an American expat who moved abroad permanently 17 years ago at just 23 years of age. From my wife, a native Costa Rican, you will learn the real Costa Rican culture; from the wide variety of mythology and Costa Rica’s unique Spanish expression to traditional food and beliefs.

  • Help

    Help

    There may be many types of help you can offer, from helping us hand plant an organic farm and taking care of the land , to offering English classes for my wife, to assisting me in my own work which could include professional writing (in English), graphic/web design, etc. We also enjoy meeting new people from different culture and especially trying their food, so if you like to cook and share your culture through food, that would be welcome as well. Helping with some housework is another option.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    My wife would love to receive English help and the both of us would love to help with your Spanish!

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    3 meals a day are included, usually prepared together with us. I love sharing meals with guests and find it the best time to share and really get to know each other and learn from one another. Accommodation will consist of either a full guest room in the main house, or you can choose to stay in a full-sized, independent worker’s home on the property.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You are just minutes from the lake shore, as well as puerto San Luis, one of the main access areas to the famous Lake Arenal and all the water activities it has to offer. Public buses run directly in front of the property, and taxi drivers are available within minutes by a quick phone call. Tilaran, the main town close to the property, is less than 10 minutes away by car. You should have more than adequate opportunities to explore the lake arenal region, including its rainforests, waterfalls, natural thermal hot springs at the foot of the nearby arenal volcano, and so much more. World class beaches are also just a little more than an hour away and easy to get to.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I run my business from my home office and have been a digital nomad myself for 13 years! Our internet is quite reliable and redundant for rural Costa Rica, with no directional speeds of about 15mb, which is quite good for rural Costa Rica.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours per day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 294584278663