Yurt living and helping us developing our homestead in the heart of Portugal.

Country

Portugal

updated  

Favourited 19 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We, an Austrian family with two children, enjoy the simple, decelerated life in the Portuguese Alentejo. The office chairs and regular working hours were exchanged for all sorts of tools and activities that enrich our hearts. We spend most of our time outside, but most of all we have the opportunity to spend them together.
    We own a property near the village Torrão which is on the shoreside of a lake. The lake gives us the opportunity to swim, kajak or just relax and enjoy nature.
    Our business plan is to sell olive oil and give courses in handweaving and wildeness/survival skills such as bow building and shooting, primitive fire making skills, etc.
    For this we are developing our property. We do all our things mainly ourselfs. We already have solar power and running water. We will now build a fence, work-space, outdoor kitchen, and so on.
    We need help with our olives trees, building stuff, cooking and spending time with our kids.
    We also love to go surfing once every week or two or exploring our closer surrounding.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a family from Austria with two kids, a husky and a cat. We love to be outdoors, to kajak, to shoot with bow and arrow, develop our garden, visit a capoeira class with our kids and go surfing.
    You can also learn how to build houses out of wood, bricks or sometimes different materials.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help in cutting our olive trees, harvesting olives, cleaning the land, cutting fire wood.
    Maintain our fruit and vegetable garden.
    Building a fence around the property, building constructions with bricks.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    German, English, little Portuguese

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a mongolian yurt to sleep in. It is located on a hill with a beautifull view at the lake. The yurt has 28sqm and offers a double siced bed, a chest of drawers and a table with chairs. The separate bathroom is yet 200m away. A closer one is beeing build at the moment.
    You can also bring your tent or van to live in.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    With your time off, you can go with us to Évora, go to the beach of Sines/Melides/Comporta and join us with surfing. The village Torrão is only 10min walking away and provides you with small supermarkets, cafes and bars.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours per day

Host ref number: 293774195645