Enjoy a cultural and language exchange with our family in west Edinburgh

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 110 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    93.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live on the west side of Edinburgh in a flat with super transport links to the train,
    tram and buses into Edinburgh or across the country.
    There is a gym facility nearby plus lots of shops.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Someone wanting an opportunity to speak English in the UK will find this a perfect place. There are many historic sites to visit across Scotland, and much of the country is accessible by train.
    I am canadian and have lived here for 13 years, but I travelled extensively over my life, and I have a good understanding of what a visitor needs to settle in well. I also speak French which may help some people!

  • Help

    Help

    I am a single working mum, and I need company and supervision for my 12 year old son. This may include some cooking, light tidying up and cleaning, playing lots of games and speaking primarily English!
    I am looking for help while I am at work 2 evenings per week, and at the weekends.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French, some Japanese, limited Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Our guest will have their own room in our flat, sharing a full bathroom with my son.
    We don’t eat dairy products, but I would be happy to supply these. Our guest would be asked to make basic meals for my son 2/3x per week, and pick up small items from the grocery store if I am at work. I would love to take our guest food shopping and explore a rota of making some meals together, but also happy for the guest to prepare their own food some nights if preferred.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our guest will be able to walk to the local train and tram station for travel into Edinburgh, Stirling or Glasgow for day trips. There are buses too!
    Locally, there are many walks and areas for getting outdoors, and there are shops and a gym.
    Our guest ideally will be comfortable being responsible for a 12 year old boy, and be confident visiting tourist places alone in their time off.
    We will host you as best we can and be respectful of you, and we will ask for your respect and consideration in return. Non-smokers please.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 291855768374