Practical helpers needed in beautiful North Wales, UK

Country

United Kingdom

updated  

Favourited 238 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    22  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    56.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My Name is Helen and I live in Beautiful North Wales. I love the outdoors and enjoy doing outdoor activities. I now live only with my daughter Faith who is 17 Both my sons are back in the area and live close by, one had been travelling for 2 years. They both work in the outdoor activity world, in fact Greg my eldest son is running an outdoor activity center on Anglesey.
    At home we have 2 dogs, both friendly, one collie and a spaniel, we also have a nice cat.

    When I brought this property it came with 6 ruined quarry men's retirement cottages.They are very small and in a row. Over the years I have done up two making one house which we now live in and I am doing up the rest. I rent our original cottage out as a holiday let.

    So I have become a self taught builder. I love it. 2 ruins I have turned into a huge greenhouse and I am now near completion of another as a cute little cottage.
    I have also recently roofed the last ruin and there it work to be done there.
    I love having workaways for the company as much as for the help. Working can be fun with the right people in the right circumstances and I also think living here in North Wales is great and will want you to enjoy that also,

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    If you are into outdoor activities this area is a mecca for them. I am very well connected with active friends and have the equipment for many sports.

    I used to teach DIY (Do It Yourself) for ladies. I would hope to inspire either sex to 'have a go', think outside the box and hopefully you will pick up some building skills from me and maybe, me from you.

  • Help

    Help

    I always have several projects on the go. I have a patio I need to complete, I would like it to be arty. Inside job is making a funky staircase out of plywood. This involves sawing, sanding, varnishing etc. .
    I need to remove lots of soil and rubble, good old manual job, and point a wall (I will teach you)
    The work will be weather and ability dependent. It's fun, you don't need any particular skills. Being practical and fit will help and abit arty would be lovely. New ideas are always welcome.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Welsh.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will live with Faith and I. Have your own bedroom and just muck in. We are easy going and laid back. Our cottage is cosy and I think we are good at making people feel at home. I also have a great social life and you are invited to join in with everything. All my workaways have really enjoyed walking, canoeing, sailing with me and also all the BBQs , dancing etc.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This village is quite, on a bus route and has wonderful walking all around.The dogs love a walk each day, and the walks are beautiful and interesting. Sailing, surfing, climbing and mountaineering is available, I am always eager to get out and play and will be happy to join you.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Stairs in the making
Doors completed
local walk with Rachele who came with her dogs.
Workaway Racheles birthday
Sometimes the hot tub is available
Andy doing some tiles designs
Nearby castle















Host ref number: 291619226561