Help with family life in a medieval city, Germany near Frankfurt, and study at university

Country

Germany

updated   Last minute

Favourited 919 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    14  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a very open minded and relaxed family of four living in a house with three other students.
    We enjoy our big garden and we have a lovely Labrador mix dog and two rabbits (and perhaps some chickens soon...)

    We are in the center of a historical University town surrounded by five hundred years old buildings, like the castle on the top of the hill and other historical buildings.

    The river, the forest, but also the the medieval center of the city with the shops are in walking distance. We are next to the oldest protestant University in Germany with 25 thousand students. The atmosphere in the city is very young and lively. There is a lot of culture, but also the opportunity to bike or to walk. It is easy to participate in classes or cultural events or to meet young people. Inhabitants of the city are allowed to be guest students and thats's why some of our workawayers became students.

    We are one train hour from Frankfurt.

    We always had people living with us, aupairs or workawayers from the US, the UK, France, Danmark and Canada, or students in the house. We are used to share our space and we love to welcome people who are also open minded, curious, creative and have positive energy.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    From October until February and from April until August the University offers plenty of classes and programs -also in English- where you can choose from. You can experience a traditional and vital German university town with lots of young people from all over the world.

    Our family and place are good to learn about classical music, art and European history, because we also are interested in this and work with it and because we live in a very historical place. We love to share knowledge and show you around.

    In our family you could learn about children growing up without TV or computer games. You will find people who are deeply interested in who you are and who most of the time love to talk. Cultural exchange could be about languages, food, music, art and much more.

  • Help

    Help

    Our workawayers always helped us in the house and in the garden (like cooking, laundry, sweeping or cleaning) or they were with the children and played with them while we were busy (games, sports like biking or swimming, painting, doing crafts, making music, reading with them, playing football). Our family is multilingual, so our workawayers could usually speak their own language with us. They sometimes cared for the rabbits or went to the woods with the dog or went for shopping.

    Perhaps
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️you have a passion for music - and you can teach singing or dancing or playing an instrument -
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️or you love helping with household things
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️or you are interested in art and you would like to share this by doing art or by teaching something artistic
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️or you enjoy gardening and would love helping us with the garden
    " or you are easy with computers and would like to share your skills
    Just let us know which of these activities would suit you - thank you!

    In our place you could...
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️share knowledge and humour and positive energy
    * speak your own language with us
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️enjoy spending time with children, their games and way of being

    When you read this and you feel that being with our family and in our place could be interesting and inspiring for you and for us... then:
    Please contact us, we are looking forward to hearing from you!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French, German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will live in your own room in our house and have the possibility to cook and to use the internet. We have a piano and enough bikes. You can eat with us and share our space and garden.

    There is also the possibility to share a house with eight other students next door. You will have your own furnished room there and share the kitchen and the garden...

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This is close to our house: forest, river, castle, library, shops, historical city center, university campus, theatre, car boot sales, pubs, market place, churches, coffee shops, station, sports place, swimming pool, cultural events, museums and many many students.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 (max 25 hours/week)

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)














Host ref number: 28918627124c