A family with a passion for sustainable, ethical and eco-friendly farming in the Abruzzese mountains of italy.




Favourited 400 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 10 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

  • Description


    A true family atmosphere not without laughter the Bostons are far from boring, with a passion for sustainable, organic and eco-friendly farming in the Abruzzese mountains of Italy.

    I am writing on behalf of this gorgeous family that I am happy to call family. The Bostons consist of 4 adorable children the twins Nimue and Anakin (5) and Lucian (7) and Airik (9) and their parents Ninke and Ralph. Ninke originally from the Netherlands and Ralph from Belfast daringly quit their 9-5 jobs and packed up and moved to this beautiful property in the Abruzzese mountains of central Italy to create a farm that values sustainable ethical and natural farming methodologies where animals are reared and cared for in their natural environment with a focus on breeding and conserving rare and traditional breeds, no longer used in modern commercial farming.

    Their vision is to have a traditional farm where visitors (families, travellers and locals alike) can come and see the animals, do workshops and activities, eat healthy natural produce, and learn about sustainable farming.

    On the farm we have: 60 pigs, 3 Donkeys, 8 dogs, 7 cats, 50 chickens, 40 sheep, 30 goats, 20 rabbits, 50 turkeys and 50 ducks and probably more by the time you visit!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Improve your english, practice italian & or Dutch!

    Learn about permaculture, sustainable farming, rare breeds, sustainable living, traditional italian cooking, how to make cheese, running events, teaching english, off grid life and much more! There is never a lack of adventures to chose from or peaceful countryside to escape to...

    You can also spend time exploring the local villages and if you’re lucky you can witness births of animals such as lambs, piglets and goats...

  • Help


    They really need some help with the many tasks they have, depending on whether you plan to stay for short term or long term. Ideally we would like volunteers to stay for 4weeks or a calendar month, however we can work with stays from a minimum of three weeks.

    - Animal care
    - Harvesting
    - Building
    - Shepherding
    - Help with general farm jobs
    - Gardening & planting
    - Maintenance of the garden
    - Maintenance- building/lifting/woodchopping
    - Asthetics around the farm
    - Supporting Events
    - Helping visitors and customers

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English (primary), Italian, Dutch

  • Accommodation


    You will have your own cosy caravan, or room of your own in a larger caravan, so you will have your own space. Also breakfast lunch and dinner will be with family. Types of meals are mostly italian food or BBQ with home grown produce including organic meat from the farm. If you would like to help with meals then you have full creative permission with the produce from the organic garden, the kids do get sick of pasta at times!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are many gorgeous hystoric villages to explore, walks along the mountainside, come along with ninke for arts and crafts engish classes for young children, have a picnik up the hill with the kids, there are also many lovely traditional restaurants and vineyards. The kids are dropped of to school daily so lifts to local villages are no problem at all.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Average 25 hours/week- Flexible by arrangement (depends on time of year)

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (4.9)

Host ref number: 287916961439