Help us create a glorious vegetable garden in Montreal du Gers, South-West France

Country

France

Favourited 13 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/11/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    83.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are an English family who moved to South-West France in Spring 2018. Since that time we have renovated the guest house, but now would like help with garden maintenance and creating a vegetable garden. We have an 18 yr old daughter who studies music in the UK and sometimes visits. Our 14 yr old son lives with us in France and is home-schooled. We have two rescue animals, a 8 yr old shitsu-bichon-griffon mix dog called Molly and a 2 yr old cat called Coco.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Workawayers will benefit from time in nature, learning new/developing existing skills, conversation with family practising speaking English and French, exploring the beautiful region. Swimming in our pool, playing table tennis with the family, having a go at slack-lining or juggling, playing guitar or piano, painting or experimenting with textiles from our art supplies.

  • Help

    Help

    We would love help with general garden maintenance such as mowing, strimming, pruning, weeding, clearing and assisting in creating bedding areas and planting a vegetable patch. The garden covers a hectare and includes woodland, lawn and flower beds. Much of the planting is quite mature and nicely done thanks to the previous owners. A lot of the work is to cut back where the wilder woodland parts are encroaching a bit too much on lawn and beds. The vegetable patch will be in raised beds on a gently sloping area next to the surrounding vineyards. As well as the woodland the garden also has a fantastic variety of trees throughout including many oak trees, a yew tree, horse chestnut, pine, a fig tree, many plum trees and other fruit trees which require some pruning.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Own room in recently refurbished guest house overlooking vineyard with shared kitchen and bathrooms.

    We will provide a vegetarian evening meal each day. Kitchen available to self cater breakfast and lunch.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The town of Montreal du Gers is approx 20 mins walk away beside vineyards and a field of sunflowers where there are art galleries, restaurants, a tabac, boulangerie and tea shop, a bar and tourist office. The Camino de Santiago long distance footpath, which comes through the village, attracts a wide variety of lovely people from round the world. We are also near some beautiful towns and villages, Seviac Roman Villa and several wine tasting venues. We love music as a family and visitors are welcome to use our music equipment including an electronic piano and guitars. We have a large pool, table-tennis table and trampoline that workawayers are welcome to share. Our visitors always enjoy the peace, tranquility and stunning views across the surrounding vineyards and valleys.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 287883191315